Track & Field Teams Claim Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

June 26, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Five men's and women's track and field performers were selected Wednesday to Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic First Teams, and 17 Duck teammates received second-team or honorable mention recognition.

On the women's side, senior heptathlete Jenny Kenyon (Newbury Park, Calif.) was named to the Pac-10 First Team for the second straight season. Kenyon ended her career as a four-time conference scorer in the heptathlon after taking fifth with a personal best 5,169 points in May, and added eighth in the 100 hurdles in the Pac-10 finale (14.23).

Junior Eri Macdonald (distances, Honolulu, Hawaii) earned second-team honors for the second straight season, and sophomore Kirsten Riley earned her first second-team distinction.

Honorable mention selections included juniors Jenny Brogdon (high jump, LaGrande, Ore.), Janette Davis (sprints, Medford, Ore.), Alicia Snyder-Carlson (hurdles/steeplechase, Kihei, Hawaii), Charyl Weingarten (javelin, Grand Forks, North Dakota) and Carrie Zografos (steeplechase, Portland, Ore.), and sophomore Annette Mosey (middle distances, Portland, Ore.), and redshirt freshman Laura Harmon (distances, Vancouver, Wash.).

On the men's side, the first team featured a conference-leading four Duck men - seniors Adam Bergquist (distances, Boulder, Colo.) and Billy Pappas (decathlon, Azalea, Ore.), redshirt junior John Stiegeler (javelin, Coos Bay, Ore.) and redshirt sophomore Ryan Andrus (distances, Orem, Utah). Pappas claimed his second consecutive conference honor, while Bergquist and Pappas were nationally first-team Verizon Academic All-America selections in 2002. Stiegeler was a national second-team Academic All-American in 2001.

Pappas was the 2002 Pac-10 decathlon champion (7,532) and a conference scorer in the long jump (seventh, 23-5 1/2w); Bergquist scored in the Pac-10 5K (eighth, 14:36.17) and was an NCAA provisional qualifier indoors in the 3K (8:10.35); Stiegeler posted the conference's top mark in the javelin (NCAA automatic 247-0); Andrus ranked first on the team in the 1,500 (3:49.08) and third in the 800 (1:53.91).

The Duck men also landed two second-team selections in redshirt senior and Kyley Johnson (high jump, Grants Pass, Ore.) and sophomore Trevor Woods (pole vault, Coos Bay, Ore.). Honorable mention selections included redshirt seniors Cody Howell (pole vault, Veneta, Ore.) and Ross Krempley (800, Sherwood, Ore.), junior James March (throws, Hillsboro, Ore.), sophomores Brett Holts (steeplechase, Bend, Ore.) and John Lucas (distances, Eagle Point, Ore.), and redshirt freshman Eric Logsdon (distances, Canby, Ore.).

The Pacific-10 Conference published a complete list of honorees on its web site (

To be eligible for the honor, athletes must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

- -

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder