Pac-10 Men's and Women's Rowing Coach of the Year Announced

June 27, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- CALIFORNIA's Steve Gladstone and WASHINGTON's Jan Harville have been named Pacific-10 Conference Men's and Women's Coach of the Year, respectively, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Gladstone led the California men's varsity eight to the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) national title this spring for the fourth consecutive year. The Bears won with a time of 5:26.81, just three seconds off the Cooper River (Cherry Hill, N.J.) record set by the 1999 Cal squad. The Bears entered the national championships with a No. 1 ranking after winning their fifth straight Pac-10 title.

Gladstone earned his 10th Varsity Challenge Cup title, which ranks second to Cornell's Charles 'Pop' Courtney, who won 11 IRA's between 1901- 1915. The Coach of the Year honor is the fifth consecutive for Gladstone and sixth overall. Gladstone, who completed his sixth season in his second stint as head coach at California, also won the award in 1979.

Harville led the Husky women's rowing team to an NCAA varsity eight win en route to finishing runner-up at the national championships this Spring. Since NCAA competition began six years ago, Harville has led the Huskies to three national titles, two NCAA runner-up finishes, and a third-place showing. Additionally, her 2002 squad was ranked No. 1 in the west region throughout the year.

Harville also led the Huskies to their 11th consecutive Pac-10 title. She completed her 15th year at Washington, earning her ninth Coach of the Year honor.Pac-10 Rowing Coach of the Year, June 26, 2002 (Page 2 of 2)

Men's Coach of the Year1978	Ken Struckmeyer, WSU1979	Steve Gladstone, CAL1980	Dick Erickson, WASH1981	Bob Newman, UCLA1982	Mike Livingston, CAL1983	Dick Erickson, WASH1984	Dick Erickson, WASH1985	Tim Hodges, CAL1986	Ken Dreyfuss, STAN1987	Zenon Babraj, UCLA1988	Zenon Babraj, UCLA1989	Zenon Babraj, UCLA1990	Bob Ernst, WASH1991	Bob Ernst, WASH1992	Bob Ernst, WASH1993	Bob Ernst, WASH1994	Wieslaw Kujda, STAN1995	Bob Ernst, WASH1996	Bob Ernst, WASH1997	Bob Ernst, WASH1998	Steve Gladstone, CAL1999	Steve Gladstone, CAL2000	Steve Gladstone, CAL2001 	Steve Gladstone, CAL2002	Steve Gladstone, CAL

Women's Coach of the Year1987 Bob Ernst, WASH1988 Jan Harville, WASH1989 Kelly Salonites, UCLA1990 Kelly Salonites, UCLA1991 Kelly Salonites, UCLA1992 Jan Harville, WASH1993 Jan Harville, WASH1994 Jan Harville, WASH1995 Jocelyn McCandless, STAN1996 Aimee Baker, STAN1997 Jan Harville, WASH1998 Jan Harville, WASH1999 David O'Neill, CAL2000 Jan Harville, WASH2001 Jan Harville, WASH2002 Jan Harville, WASH

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder