Jeremy Guthrie A Finalist For Golden Spikes Award To Be Announced July 9

July 8, 2002

Tucson, Ariz. - USA Baseball will announce the winner of the 2002 Golden Spikes Award - amateur baseball's most prestigious honor - on Tuesday, July 9, during the premier broadcast of the 25th Anniversary Golden Spikes Award show. The broadcast - produced in coordination with the Major League Baseball Players Association - will also announce the 11 former Golden Spikes winners named to the 25th Anniversary Golden Spikes Award Team, and will also highlight some of the various youth baseball programs presented by USA Baseball and the MLBPA.

Stanford's Jeremy Guthrie, a junior during the recently completed 2002 campaign, is one of five finalists for the award. Guthrie had a banner season, earning First Team All-American honors and being named the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year after leading the conference in wins (13-2), ERA (2.51), strikeouts (136) and innings pitched (157.2), breaking a Stanford school record in the latter category.

Guthrie was selected in the first round of the 2002 MLB First-Year Player Draft with the 22nd overall pick by the Cleveland Indians' organization. He is attempting to become the first Stanford player to ever win the prestigous Golden Spikes Award.

A total of five regional cable sports networks will be airing the show, each covering a region of the country from which the five Golden Spikes Award finalists are from:

3:00 PM EST - FOX Sports New England
3:30 PM EST - FOX Sports South
3:30 PM EST - Madison Square Garden Network
3:30 PM CST - FOX Sports Chicago
3:00 PM PST - FOX Sports Bay Area
(Also check your local listings)

The TV special was produced by TeamWorks Media, a Chicago-based multimedia production company specializing in original television programming, video production, web design, and CD-ROM development. The show is hosted by George Grande - longtime TV play-by-play voice of the Cincinnati Reds, and the emcee of the annual Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies in Cooperstown, NY.

'USA Baseball is thankful to be working with the Major League Baseball Players Association on the 25th Anniversary of the Golden Spikes Award, and we are extremely pleased to be able to bring the announcement of this year's winner to a television audience,' said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO.

Underscoring their shared interest and commitment to support the development of baseball from the grassroots level, the Major League Baseball Players Association is the title sponsor of USA Baseball's Golden Spikes Award and provides support for USA Baseball's youth baseball programs.

The five finalists for the 2002 Golden Spikes Award are:

Russ Adams - North Carolina - IF - Junior
Jeff Baker - Clemson - IF - Junior
Bobby Brownlie - Rutgers - RHP - Junior
Khalil Greene - Clemson - IF - Senior
Jeremy Guthrie - Stanford - RHP - Junior

For the past 24 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State in 1978, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2001 Golden Spikes Award winner was Mark Prior of the University of Southern California.

Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball stars such as Pat Burrell ('98), J.D. Drew ('97), Travis Lee ('96), Mark Kotsay ('95), Jason Varitek ('94), Darren Dreifort ('93), Phil Nevin ('92) and Robin Ventura ('88). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Alex Fernandez ('90), Ben McDonald ('89), Jim Abbott ('87), Will Clark ('85), Dave Magadan ('83), Terry Francona ('80), Tim Wallach ('79), and Bob Horner ('78).

A total of 18 different schools have captured the Golden Field Award - given to the Athletic Department and Head Coach of the Golden Spikes Award winner - including three colleges that have won the Award a record three times (Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida State). The University of Miami-FL, has had ten players named finalists - the most of any school in America - with one winner (Burrell '98).

The MLBPA is the collective bargaining representative for all professional baseball players of the National League and the American League and serves as the exclusive group licensing agent for commercial and licensing activities involving active Major League Baseball Players. On behalf of its members, it operates the Players Choice licensing program and Players Choice Awards events, which benefit children through the Major League Baseball Players Trust for Children, a charitable foundation established and run entirely by Major League Baseball Players.

USA Baseball is the National Governing Body of amateur baseball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The organization selects and trains the USA Baseball Olympic Team, the USA Baseball National Team, the USA Baseball Junior National team (18-under), and the USA Baseball Youth National Team (16-under) which participate in various international competitions each year.

Past Golden Spikes Award Winners
Year - GSA Recipient - School
2001 - Mark Prior - Southern California
2000 - Kip Bouknight - South Carolina
1999 - Jason Jennings - Baylor
1998 - Pat Burrell - Miami
1997 - J.D. Drew - Florida State
1996 - Travis Lee - San Diego State
1995 - Mark Kotsay - Cal State Fullerton
1994 - Jason Varitek - Georgia Tech
1993 - Darren Dreifort - Wichita State
1992 - Phil Nevin - Cal State Fullerton
1991 - Mike Kelly - Arizona State
1990 - Alex Fernandez - Miami-Dade South
1989 - Ben McDonald - Louisiana State
1988 - Robin Ventura - Oklahoma State
1987 - Jim Abbott - Michigan
1986 - Mike Loynd - Florida State
1985 - Will Clark - Mississippi State
1984 - Oddibe McDowell - Arizona State
1983 - Dave Magadan - Alabama
1982 - Augie Schmidt - New Orleans
1981 - Mike Fuentes - Florida State
1980 - Terry Francona - Arizona
1979 - Tim Wallach - Cal State Fullerton
1978 - Bob Horner - Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Football: Football Post Game Report
    TODAY | 4:30pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
  • Football: The Pregame
    TODAY | 7:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
  • Pac-12 Final Score
    TODAY | 11:30pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder