Mark Prior Named To USA Baseball's 25th Anniversary Golden Spikes Award Team

July 9, 2002

LOS ANGELES -- Former USC pitcher Mark Prior was named Tuesday to the 25th Anniversary Golden Spikes Award Team as announced by USA Baseball, in conjunction with the announcement of the 2002 GSA winner (Clemson's Khalil Greene). Prior won the award last year after posting a 15-1 record with a 1.69 ERA (138.2 IP, 100 H, 18 BB, 202 SO).

Prior was one of three pitchers named to the 11-player team of former Golden Spikes Award winners. The other two pitchers were Jim Abbott and Ben McDonald. The remaining members of the 25th Anniversary Team are Pat Burrell, Will Clark, Bob Horner, Phil Nevin, Robin Ventura, J.D. Drew, Terry Francona and Mark Kotsay.

The Golden Spikes Award is presented to the top amateur baseball player in the country who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship.

As a member of the Chicago Cubs' starting rotation, Prior has a 2-2 record with a 3.98 ERA. In 52 innings, he has allowed 42 hits, walked 22 and struck out 65 batters in his first season in the major leagues.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder