Tara Kirk Wins 100 Breast For Second Victory At Janet Evans Invitational

July 21, 2002

Los Angeles, Calif. - Stanford women's swimmer Tara Kirk won the 100 meter breaststroke competing for MetWest on the fourth and final day of the Janet Evans Invitational on Sunday at McDonald's Swim Stadium. Kirk's victory in a time of 1:08.51 gave her a clean sweep of the breaststroke events at the meet. Kirk, the 2002 NCAA champ in both the 100 and 200 yard breaststroke, had won the 200 on Saturday in a time of 2:29.45.

Lacey Boutwell also swam for Stanford in Sunday's finals session, placing 17th in the 100 meter back with a time of 1:05.72. Erin Glenn (21st, 17:44.50) and Katy Blakemore (30th, 18:13.35) also competed Sunday evening in the 1500 meter free, which was swam with the finals session.

Stanford had other competitors in Sunday's prelim session. Kirk (57th, 1:07.09) and Haley Champion (62nd, 1:07.21) swam in the 100 meter fly. Megan Baumgartner (44th, 1:08.59) and Champion (74th, 1:11.39) joined Boutwell in the 100 meter back. Tenley Bick (35th, 1:18.26) swam with Kirk in the 100 meter breaststroke. Kirk (48thT, 2:29.12), Bick (65th, 2:30.73) and Baumgartner (89th, 2:34.74) participated in the 200 meter individual medley.

Sunday's other individual winners were Mary Descenza (Academy, 100 meter fly, 1:00.48), Natalie Coughlin (Cal, 100 meter back, 1:00.52 meet record), Maggie Bowen (Auburn, 200 meter individual medley, 2:15.33) and Hayley Piersol (Nova, 1500 meter free, 16:27.78 meet record). The Cal 400 meter medley relay team of Haley Cope, Staciana Stitts, Coughlin and Danielle Becks were victorious in a time of 4:12.33.

Full results and more information about the meet are available at usctrojans.com. The meet was a non-scoring team event.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder