Tara Kirk Wins 200 Meter Breaststroke At Janet Evans Invitational

July 20, 2002

Los Angeles, Calif. - Stanford women's swimmer Tara Kirk won the 200 meter breaststroke competing for MetWest on the third day of the Janet Evans Invitational hosted by USC on Saturday at McDonald's Swim Stadium. Kirk, the 2002 NCAA Champion in the 200 yard breaststroke, recorded a time of 2:29.45 in her winning effort. Lacey Boutwell's 10th place finish in the 50 meter free was the next highest finish for a Cardinal swimmer.

Other Stanford competitors on Saturday included Tenley Bick in the 400 meter individual medley (5:09.94, 5:09.28 prelims) and 200 meter breaststroke (22nd, 2:43.03), Megan Baumgartner (50 meter free, 28th, 27.50), Erin Glenn (400 meter IM, 40th, 5:13.50) and Haley Champion (50 meter free, 49th, 27.99). Kirk also swam the 50 meter free, finishing tied for 69th in a time of 28.40.

Saturday's other winners were Lindsay Benko (Trojan, 200 meter free, 1:59.11), Haley Cope (Cal, 50 meter free, 25.49), Maggie Bowen (Auburn, 400 meter individual medley, 4:45.47) and the Sun Devil 800 meter free relay team of Brooke Townsend, Kari Wilcox, Mandy Stanford and Florence Szigeti in a time of 8:26.32.

The 2002 Janet Evans Invitational concludes Sunday, July 21. Full results and more information about the meet are available at usctrojans.com. The meet is a non-scoring team event.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder