Three Huskies Earn First Team All-America Honors

July 31, 2002

Ann Arbor, Mich. - The women on Washington's NCAA champion varsity eight-oared crew continue to earn recognition for their achievements during the 2002 season as three Huskies were honored on the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-America Team that was announced Wednesday.

Recent graduates Anna Mickelson (Bellevue,Wash.) and Mary Whipple (Sacramento, Calif.) along with senior-to-be Heidi Hurn (Redmond, Wash.) all earned first team honors on the prestigious team that includes 22 women from Division I institutions around the country. Washington was the only school to have three women on the first team.

Mickelson, Whipple and Hurn all were a part of Washington's undefeated varsity eight that captured the NCAA championship on Eagle Creek in Indianapolis back on June 2. The title, which the Huskies' also won in 2001, was Washington's fourth in the event since 1997.

Whipple, UW's varsity coxswain for three years, is a three-time first team all-American. Mickelson, also a three-year varsity rower and a 2002 CRCA Academic All-American, earned second team honors as a sophomore and first team honors as a junior. Hurn earned the all-America honor after her first season in the varsity boat.

Mickelson and Whipple are coming off a gold medal performance in the women's elite eight race at the USRowing National Championship Regatta in Camden, N.J. last weekend. The pair competed as a part of the Princeton Training Center A team, with whom they are in U.S. National Team training camp at the Princeton campus. Hurn also competed last weekend, at the World Under-23 Regatta in Genoa, Italy and earned a silver medal in the women's pair with former teammate Kara Nykreim (Kirkland, Wash.).

The CRCA All-America award, in its fourth year, is designed to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of female rowers and coxswains during the current season. The All-America first and second teams were selected by the regional chairpersons following the NCAA Championships from the rowers who had received All-Region first team honors. For each of the five regions, 12 rowers and, if nominated, a coxswain received first team honors and were eligible for national recognition.

2002 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Awards

First Team

Rosemary Branson-Gill - Brown UniversityKrista Buzzell - Michigan State UniversityMegan Cooke - University of California, BerkeleyMadeline Engel - University of VirginiaAimee Fox - Clemson UniversityJoanna Hingle - Duke UniversityHeidi Hurn - University of WashingtonSarah-Jane Irwin - University of PennsylvaniaConnie Kirsch - Ohio State UniversitySabrina Kolker - Stanford UniversityJillian Kott - Syracuse UniversityKatie Lakin - Duke UniversityJessica Lanning - Brown UniversityTamara McBratney - University of MichiganMelissa Merritt - Yale UniversityChristina Meyer - University of MichiganAnna Mickelson - University of WashingtonLia Pernell - Princeton UniversityKate Phillips - Princeton UniversityJennifer Reck - University of VirginiaKate Wetmore - Yale UniversityMary Whipple - University of Washington (coxswain)
Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder