Washington Kicker John Anderson Named to Groza Watch List

Aug. 1, 2002

Seattle - Washington senior kicker John Anderson has been named to the 2002 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Preseason Watch List. Anderson, is a native of Palm Beach, the site of the Groza Award ceremony.

Anderson enters his senior season as one of the best placekicker in Washington history. He is third on UW's all-time field goals list with 39 and is the co-holder of the school record for long field goal with a 56 effort in 1999 vs. UCLA. Anderson owns the Huskies' bowl records for longest field goal (47 yards) and field goals in a game (three).

This year's Groza Watch List includes two former winners, two former finalists, and a member of the defending National Champions.

The Watch List is comprised of the top 30 preliminary candidates for the 11th Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the FedEx Orange Bowl. The award will be given out during a ceremony on Tuesday, December 10, at the Sheraton West Palm Beach Hotel at CityPlace in West Palm Beach, FL.

Among those kickers named to the Lou Groza Award Watch List are last year's Lou Groza Award winner, Seth Marler of Tulane, and 2000 Groza winner, Jonathan Ruffin of Cincinnati. Auburn's Damon Duval and Alex Walls of Tennessee both are past finalists who are also on the list.

The kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2001 season and on preseason expectations. However, all Division I-A kickers are eligible for consideration for the award.

A panel of over 300 people made up of Division I-A head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers, and all previous Groza Award finalists votes upon the award.

The 20 semi-finalists for the Lou Groza Award will be announced on November 4, followed two weeks later by the naming of the three Lou Groza Award finalists on November 18.

The award, now in its 11th year, is named for NFL Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Nicknamed 'The Toe,' Groza was one of the first people to truly make kicking an art form, and he helped usher in to football the idea that a player could be used exclusively for kicking.

The Lou Groza Award is sponsored by AvMed, Bank Atlantic, The Breakers, Continental Airlines, ESPN, Florida Coca-Cola Bottling, JBS Destination Solutions, Palm Beach Kennel Club, The Palm Beach Post, Parallax Productions, Rooney's Public House, Sheraton West Palm Beach at CityPlace, and WPEC News Channel 12.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, please go to www.palmbeachsports.com.

2002 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Preseason Watch List

NAME                  SCHOOL               CLASSJohn Anderson         Washington           Sr.Asen Asparuhov        Fresno State         Sr.Justin Ayat           Hawaii               So.Steve Azar            Northern Illinois    Jr.Johnny Beck           Kansas               So.Xavier Beitia         Florida State        So.Billy Bennett         Georgia              Jr.Peter Christofilakos  Illinois             Sr.David Davis           Southern California  Sr.Drew Dunning          Washington State     Jr.Damon Duval           Auburn               Sr.Damon Fine            Nevada               Jr.Curtis Head           Marshall             Sr.Adam Kiker            North Carolina State Jr.Luke Manget           Georgia Tech         Sr.Dusty Mangum          Texas                So.Seth Marler           Tulane               Sr.Kevin Miller          East Carolina        Sr.Nick Novak            Maryland             So.Matt Payne            Brigham Young        So.Luke Phillips         Oklahoma State       Jr.Jonathan Ruffin       Cincinnati           Sr.Josh Scobee           Louisiana Tech       Jr.Nicholas Setta        Notre Dame           Sr.Todd Sievers          Miami (FL)           Sr.Nate Smith            Louisville           Jr.Robert Treece         Texas Tech           Sr.Alex Walls            Tennessee            Sr.J.D. Wallum           Wyoming              Sr.Daniel Weaver         South Carolina       Jr.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network