Tom Honored As Female Amateur Athlete Of The Year By San Jose Sports Hall Of Fame

Aug. 7, 2002

San Jose, Calif. - The San Jose Sports Hall of Fame announced today the 2002 Hall of Fame Inductees.

The 2002 inductees are: Dennis Awtrey (basketball), Ed Burke (track & field), Betty Hicks (golf), Carney Lansford (baseball), and Craig Morton (football). The San Jose Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Wednesday, November 13 on the floor of Compaq Center at San Jose.

This year's induction ceremony is presented by the Private Banking Group of Comerica Bank, in cooperation with SBC Pacific Bell, Hewlett-Packard Company, and San Jose Magazine. A portion of the event proceeds will benefit the Silicon Valley Region of Special Olympics.

Also being honored at the ceremony will be the Amateur Athletes of the Year, Logan Tom (Stanford volleyball) and Jeremy Guthrie (Stanford baseball); High School Athletes of the Year, Adrienne Herbst (Santa Teresa) and Trent Edwards (Los Gatos); and Lindsay Mibach will be honored as the Special Olympian of the Year.

A member of the United States National Volleyball Team, Logan Tom is currently a senior at Stanford University. After leading the Cardinal to the 2001 NCAA Championship, she was named the NCAA Final Four and Regional MVP. Last season, Tom was also recognized as the American Volleyball Coaches Association's National Player of the Year, the ASICS/Volleyball Magazine National Player of the Year, and the Pac-10 Player of the Year. She is a three-time first-team All-American and was the Honda Award winner for volleyball for 2001-02. Tom ranks third at Stanford in career service aces (135) and should crack the top five this season in career kills and digs.

This is the eighth annual induction for the San Jose Sports Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will begin with a reception at 5:30 p.m. followed by the dinner and ceremony at 7:00 p.m. This year's event will also feature a silent auction. For information regarding the purchase of tickets for the event or sponsorship packages, please call the San Jose Sports Hall of Fame information line at 408.288.2932.

The San Jose Sports Hall of Fame recognizes great athletes and coaches of San Jose and Santa Clara County. A bronze relief of each of the inductees will be permanently displayed on the concourselevel of Compaq Center at San Jose. Among the Hall of Fame's current members are Peggy Fleming Jenkins, Dave Righetti, Jack and John Elway, Jim Plunkett, and Bill Walsh.

courtesy of the San Jose Sports Hall of Fame

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder