OSU Elects Football Captains For 2002 Season

Aug. 8, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

CORVALLIS- Oregon State elected four captains-James Newson, Richard Seigler, Nick Barnett and Eric Manning-for the 2002 football season it was announced Thursday by Head Coach Dennis Erickson.

Barnett and Manning are seniors, while Newson and Seigler are juniors.

Nick Barnett is the Beavers' starting strong linebacker and Seigler is OSU's No. 1 middle linebacker. Manning, a first-team All-Pac-10 selection in 2001 at defensive tackle, starts at left tackle on defense. Newson represents the offense and was OSU's leading receiver in 2001 with 57 receptions for 968 yards and five touchdowns as a flanker.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder