Oregon State To Honor Giant Killers At UCLA Game

Aug. 15, 2002

CORVALLIS-The 1967 'Giant Killers,' one of the greatest teams in Oregon State football history, will be honored at Reser Stadium on October 5 when the Beavers host the UCLA Bruins.

The '67 Giant Killers, coached by Dee Andros, will be celebrating their 35th anniversary when they reunite in Corvallis.

The 1967 OSU squad finished the season 7-2-1 that year and posted memorable victories over Purdue, then ranked No. 2 in the nation, tied UCLA, then ranked No. 2 in the nation, and defeated the No. 1 ranked USC Trojans, led by Heisman Trophy winner O.J. Simpson, 3-0 at Parker Stadium.

It was the only loss USC would suffer on the season en route to winning the Rose Bowl and the National Championship. The Beavers finished second to the Trojans in the final AAWU standings. In those years, only the league champion was eligible to play in a bowl game.

Oregon State finished the 1967 season ranked seventh in the nation on the final Associated Press poll.

Andros' coaching staff included Sam Boghosian, Bud Riley, Ed Knecht, Rich Brooks, Earl Lunsford and Bob Herndon.

Members of the 1967 Oregon State squad included Louis Armstrong III, LB; Duane Barton, FB; Rex Behnke, HB; Jerry Belcher, HB; Ron Boley, DT; Dale Branch, DT; Roger Cantlon, SE; Gary Cantwell, PK; Clayton Calhoun, E; Sal Cirrincione, FB; John Davis, OG; Steve Davis, SE; John Didion, C; Mel Easley, DB; Bill Enyart, FB; Mike Foote, DE; Tom Greerty, DT; Mike Groff, LB; Harry Gunner, DE; Mike Haggard, PK; Dan Harper, DT; Rick Harrington, DB; Gary Hartman, DE; Gary Houser, TE; Lee Jamison, OT; Bob Jeremiah, DL; Wally Johnson, LB; Bob Jossis, LB; Rich LaSalle, DE; Jess Lewis, DT; Bill Main, HB; Dave Marlette, OG; Bob Mayes, QB; Joe Mihelich, OG; Fred Milton, LB; Mike Mitchell, QB; Gary Neal, DT; Bill Nelson, DL; Charlie Olds, DB; Rick Olsson, DB; Bill Plumeau, TE; Steve Preece, QB; Rocky Rasley, OG; Larry Rich, S; Nick Rogers, TE; Jon Sandstrom, DL; Jim Scheele, DB; Ken Scott, OT; Steve Shaw, DE; Clyde Smith, OG; Ernie Smith, DB; Van smith, OT; Roger Stalick, OT; George Stursa, DL; Don Summers, WB; Skip Vanderbundt, LB; Chris Wahle, DL; Mark Waletich, S; Don Welch, DB; Doug Wells, OT; Mike White, C; Don Whitney, DB and Alan Young, SE.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder