Pickett Named to 2002 Davey O'Brien Quarterback Watch List

Aug. 19, 2002

Fort Worth, TX - Washington junior quarterback Cody Pickett has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2002 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, given annually to the nation's top college quarterback. Pickett is one of 32 players cited for preseason consideration.

The winner of the 2002 O'Brien Award will be announced Dec. 12 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. Three finalists will be selected by the Davey O'Brien Advisory Committee in late November and will appear on the show.

The selection committee for the award is comprised of nationally known sportswriters and commentators and will vote several times throughout the season to narrow the field.

The winner will be honored at the 26th annual O'Brien Awards Dinner in February 2003, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Tex. The O'Brien Award is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien, the All-American and Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback for Texas Christian University who led the Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship.

The candidates on the 2002 watch list are:
RJ Anderson, Jr., Syracuse
Kyle Boller, Sr., California
Marquel Blackwell, Jr., South Florida
Brooks Bollinger, Sr., Wisconsin
Timmy Chang, Soph., Hawaii
Casey Clausen, Jr., Tennessee
Ryan Dinwiddie, Jr., Boise State
Ken Dorsey, Sr., Miami
Jason Gesser, Sr., Washington State
David Greene, Soph., Georgia
Rex Grossman, Jr., Florida
Gino Guidugli, Soph., Cincinnati
Mark Farris, Sr., Texas A&M
Kliff Kingsbury, Sr., Texas Tech
Byron Leftwich, Sr., Marshall
Jared Lorenzen, Jr., Kentucky
Luke McCown, Jr., Louisiana Tech
Eli Manning, Jr., Mississippi
Zack Mills, Soph., Penn State
Carson Palmer, Sr., USC
Cody Pickett, Jr., Washington
Dave Ragone, Sr., Louisville
Philip Rivers, Jr., North Carolina State
Chris Rix, Soph., Florida State
Ben Roethlisberger, Soph., Miami Ohio
Chris Simms, Sr., Texas
Jeff Smoker, Jr., Michigan State
Brian St. Pierre, Sr., Boston College
Jason Thomas, Sr., UNLV
Jon Van Cleave, Jr., Louisiana-Lafayette
Seneca Wallace, Sr., Iowa State
Jason White, Jr., Oklahoma

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network