Stanford Tabbed To Win Pac-10 Men's Soccer Crown

Aug. 19, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- STANFORD, which won its first Pac-10 Conference men's soccer title in 2001 and advanced to the NCAA Final Four, has been picked by the Pac-10 men's soccer coaches to repeat as Conference champions.

The Cardinal recieved 34 points, edging out second place UCLA (21 pts.) by three points. Stanford recieved four of the first place votes, while the Bruins garnered the other two. Rounding out the poll was WASHINGTON in third place, followed by CALIFORNIA, OREGON STATE, and Pac-10 newcomer FRESNO STATE.

Stanford won the 2001 Pac-10 Conference championship with a 6-1-1 Pac-10 ledger. Finishing second was UCLA with a 5-2-1 Conference mark. Washington was third with a record of 4-4-0 in Pac-10 play. Stanford, UCLA, Washington and California all entered the NCAA Tournament, with both Stanford and UCLA advancing to the third round, and only the Cardinal reaching the semifinals.

The following are the results of the Pac-10 Conference preseason men's soccer coaches poll (points 6-5-4-3-2-1) with first place votes in parentheses:

1. Stanford (4) 34 2. UCLA (2) 31 3. Washington 24 4. California 18 5. Oregon State 10 6. Fresno State 9

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder