Men's Golf Finishes Third at William H. Tucker Intercollegiate

Sept. 14, 2002

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of Arizona men's golf team shot a final round 299 (+11) and could not make up ground on the leaders Saturday in posting a third place finish at the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate.

The fourth-ranked Wildcats finished the 54-hole event with a team total of 874 (+10) to finish in third place. High scores were the order of the day, as just one team in the field of 18 managed to card a total at par or better. Tournament host New Mexico won the event with an even-par 864, five strokes ahead of UNLV.

Individually, two Wildcats stand in the top 10, led by Ricky Barnes. The senior from Stockton, Calif., shot a final round 74 (+2) to finish in a tie for third place at 214 (-2). Barnes, who won the 2002 NCAA West Regional on this same course, is a combined eight-under-par over his last six rounds at New Mexico's Championship Course. New Mexico's Michael Letzig captured individual medalist honors in the 97-man field with a 207 (-9) total.

Joining Barnes in the top 10 was junior Chris Nallen. He tallied a final round 74 (+2) to tie for ninth place at even-par 216. Junior Andy Connell narrowly missed a top-10 finish off his own, as he finished tied for 14th place at 218 (+2). All told, only one UA golfer (Nathan Lashley) was below par on Saturday.

Also competing for the Wildcats were senior Reid Hatley, who tied for 31st place at 222 (+6), freshman Blaine Peffley and sophomore Nathan Lashley, both tied for 49th place at 225 (+9), and sophomore Kipp Riehle, who tied for 70th place at 231 (+15).

The 48th annual William H. Tucker Intercollegiate was contested at the Championship Course, a par 72, 7,272-yard layout.

Arizona will next be in action on Sept. 27-29 at the Carpet Capital Classic in Dalton, Ga.

Top Five Teams                     	Top Five Individuals1.    New Mexico   	864 (E)    	1. Michael Letzig, New Mexico           69-68-70=207 (-9)2.    UNLV              869 (+5) 	2.  Ryan Moore, UNLV                    69-69-72=210 (-6)3.    Arizona           874 (+10)	3.  Ricky Barnes, Arizona               71-69-74=214 (-2)4.    San Diego State	875 (+11)	    Michael Jurgensen, Oregon State	70-73-71=214 (-2)5.    Texas Tech	876 (+12)           Dan Swanson, UTEP                   70-72-72=214 (-2)

Arizona Finishers T3. Ricky Barnes 71-69-74=214 (-2) T9. Chris Nallen 71-71-74=216 (E) T14. Andy Connell * 70-73-75=218 (+2) T31. Reid Hatley 70-76-76=222 (+6) T49. Blaine Peffley 75-75-75=225 (+9) T49. Nathan Lashley * 74-80-71=225 (+9) T70. Kipp Riehle 72-77-82=231 (+11)

* competed as an individual

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder