Jason Johnson Selected to 'Good Works Team'

Sept. 17, 2002

University of Arizona quarterback Jason Johnson of Puyallup, Wash., was named to the American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team today, joining 10 other Division I-A football players in earning the citation for community service.

Johnson, a graduate student in Judaic studies, is Arizona's third consecutive player named to the AFCA honor roll. Junior punter Chris Palic earned the distinction in 2000 and graduate defensive end Eli Wnek was named to the team last year.

Johnson is the fifth player Arizona head football coach John Mackovic has had earned the AFCA distinction, following three of his University of Texas student-athletes -- Robert Reed, Tony Brackens and Tyson King -- and Wnek.

'Jason Johnson is the epitome of the concerned student-athlete,' Mackovic said. 'He's a great student and an outstanding player who gives willingly of his free time for various community projects. He's a shining example of what the Good Works Team honors, in just eleven football players in the country.'

Tucsonan James MacPherson, a Mountain View High School graduate and senior quarterback at Wake Forest, also was named to the team.

Johnson has been active in the university's Peer Athletic Leaders, the Freshman A-Lympics, 'Adopt a Family' Thanksgiving food drive, the American Cancer Society fund drive, the 'Race for a Cure' drive, University Hospital chilren's ward visits and several Christian activities on campus. He's also the reigning first-team Academic All-Pac-10 quarterback selection and a top candidate for a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete award this year.

Although the honor is not predicated on athletic performance, Johnson currently is No. 2 nationally in total offense and among national leaders in pass completions per game and pass efficiency rating.

'With all the time demands on today's student-athlete, it really speaks to the dedication thise young men have to their communities that they spend their free time helping so many outstanding organizations and causes,' AFCA executive director Grant teaff said. 'They don't do community service for recognition, but the AFCA is proud to honor them with a position on our Good Works Team.'

The AFCA also named 11 football student-athletes from Division I-AA, II, III and NAIA to the GWT.

The 2002 Division I-A AFCA Good Works Team:

Jason Johnson, Senior QB, Arizona. Coach: John Mackovic

Lane Danielsen, Junior WR, Iowa State. Coach: Dan McCarney

Antonio Hall, Junior OL, Kentucky. Coach: Guy Morriss

Troy Hassebroek, Senior RB, Nebraska. Coach: Frank Solich

Anthony Kelley, Senior LB, Washington. Coach: Rick Neuheisel

John Leonard, Senior QB, Cincinnati. Coach: Rick Minter

James MacPherson, Senior QB, Wake Forest. Coach: Jim Grobe

Eli Manning, Junior QB, Mississippi. Coach: David Cutliffe

Brian Rimpf, Junior OL, East Carolina. Coach: Steve Logan

tony Terrell, Senior DL, Nevada-Las Vegas. Coach: John Robinson

P.J. Winston, Senior WR, New Mexico State. Coach: Tony Samuel

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder