Napa Valley Day One Men's Tennis Results

Sept. 20, 2002

Napa Valley, Calif. - Cal men's tennis opened up competition today, playing in the Napa Valley Tennis Challenge, a three day individual round robin event featuring No, 13 Cal and No. 65 Arizona from the Pac-10 Conference, No. 4 Illinois from the Big-10 and NCAA runner-up No. 2 Georgia from the SEC.

Seven players competed for Cal today, including 71st ranked Balazs Veress, who was named to last year's honorable mention All-Pac-10 team. Veress defeated Georgia's Stephan Timu in straight sets, 6-4; 6-4, but dropped his doubles (with Robert Kowalczyk) match to Illinois, 8-3. The other Bear winner today was senior Robert Kowalczyk, who defeated Georgia's Jason Varela, 6-3; 6-3.

In doubles round robin competition, Cal's team of Patrick Briaud and Conor Niland beat Georgia's pair of Will Glenn and Stephan Timu for the Golden Bears' only doubles victory of the day.

The Bears return to action tomorrow, Saturday, Sept. 21, at 9:00 a.m. at the Meadowood Resort in Napa Valley. For directions to the tournament, go to

Results from the first day of competition:

NCAA Singles Day 1 - Round Robin 1 Balazs Veress, (CAL) d. Stephan Timu, (GA)  6-4; 6-4 Pramod Daibiru  (ILL) d. Will Glenn, (GA)  6-2; 5-7; 6-2 Robert Kowalczyk, (CAL) d. Jason Varela, (GA)  6-3; 6-3 Pramod Dabir, (ILL) d. Trevor Wilson, (GA)  6-2; 6-3 Ryler Deheart, (ILL) d. Patrick Briaud, (CAL)  7-6(7); 7-6(5) Amer Delic, (ILL) d. Whi Kim, (AZ)  7-6(4); 5-7; 6-1 Brian Wilson, (ILL) d. Wayne Wong, (CAL)  7-6(3); 6-2 Michael Calkins, (ILL) d. Carl Hagman, (AZ)  6-2; 6-4 Paul Warkentin, (AZ) d. Chris Martin, (ILL)  7-6(5); 1-6; 6-3 Philip Stolt, (ILL) d. Tom Lloyd, (AZ)  6-1; 6-4 Evan Zeder, (ILL) d. Kevin Patrick, (CAL)  6-3; 6-2 Colin O'Grady, (AZ) d. Connor Murnighan, (ILL)  6-7(5); 7-6(3); 6-2 Daniel Andrus, (AZ) d. Jeff King, (CAL)  6-4; 6-3

NCAA Doubles Day 1 - Round Robin 1 Calkins M - Delic (ILL) d. Kowalczyk R - Veress B 8-3 (CAL) Briaud P - Niland C (CAL) d. Glenn W - Timu S 8-3 (GA) Deheart R - Martin (ILL) d. Hagman C - Lloyd (AZ) 9-7 Stolt P - Wilson B (ILL) d. Kim W - O'Grady C (AZ) 8-4 Andrus D - Warkentin P (AZ) d. Varela J - Wilson T (GA) 8-5 Murnighan C - Zeder E (ILL) d. King J - Patrick K (CAL) 9-7

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder