UW Women's Golfers Open at New Mexico

Sept. 25, 2002

Seattle - The Washington women's golf team opens its 2002-2003 season at New Mexico's 24th annual Comcast - Dick McGuire Invitational Sept. 26-28. The 54-hole tournament will be played at the par-73, 6,069-yard UNM Championship Golf Course. Tee times start at 8:30 a.m. MT on Thursday and Friday and at 8 a.m. on Saturday.

The 19 team field includes: Arizona State, Baylor, BYU, Colorado State, New Mexico, New Mexico State, Northern Arizona, Oklahoma, Pepperdine, San Diego State, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Christian, Texas Tech, Tulsa, UNLV, UTEP, Washington and Wyoming.

Last year New Mexico won the team title while Texas Tech's Stephanie Dukes took medalist honors.

Washington enters its first tournament of the season with a lineup that includes four of five golfers who competed for the Huskies at last year's NCAA Championships. GolfDigest ranks the Huskies 23rd in its preseason rankings. The Huskies are not yet included in GolfWeek's rankings since that poll is based on tournament play.

Three Washington golfers are among the top-60 in Golfweek's preseason ranking based on their 2002 final standings. Senior Louis Friberg was ranked 52nd last year by GolfWeek, but heads into her final season at UW ranked 35th among returning players. Lindsay Morgan, ranked 78th last season, is 55th in Golfweek's preseason poll. Paige Mackenzie, ranked 85th last year, was 60th in the poll.

When husky head coach Mary Lou Mulflur, in her 20th year as Washington's head coach, announced the lineup for UW's first fall tournament, Mackenzie was seeded first followed by Friberg, Morgan, freshman Sung Ea Lee and senior Michelle Grafos.

Mackenzie helped the Huskies to a 20th-place finish at last year's NCAA Championships, placing 25th overall. She was the sixth highest finisher among Pac-10 competitors. She was third on the UW squad last year with a stroke average of 75.71. Friberg led the UW team with a 74.91 stroke average while Morgan was second at 75.62.

Coaches Poll
Rank Team Points

 1.  Duke (8)            318 2.  Auburn (4)          306 3.  Arizona (1)         271 4.  Florida             247 5.  Pepperdine          227 6.  Georgia             225 7.  Texas               221 8.  Southern California 211 9.  Vanderbilt          20510.  Oklahoma State      18811.  UCLA                17212.  Ohio State          16113.  California          15914.  Arizona State       15215.  Stanford            14616.  Tulsa               13917.  South Carolina      13718.  Wake Forest         12319.  Oklahoma            11020.  Michigan State       8121.  Tennessee            7722.  Purdue               6123.  Washington           5724.  TCU                  3025.  Kent                 2825.  New Mexico           28
Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder