2002 MPSF Season Reviews

(Capsule Reviews of 2001-02 Pac-10 Highlights in the MPSF.)

Complete Season Review in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The three-time defending MPSF Champion Oklahoma Sooners (219.225) edged CALIFORNIA (217.200) and STANFORD(207.650) to win the 2002 MPSF Men's Gymnastics Championship. The Golden Bears proved to be tough as Cody Moore won the parallel bars with a mark of 9.150. Moore's fellow teammate David Eaton (9.300) tied with Oklahoma's Everette Bierker for the top spot in the high bar. Stanford's Marshall Erwin (9.900) tied Oklahoma's Brett Covey for first in the still rings.

Oklahoma went on to win the national championship (219.300), while Cal placed third (217.650, and Stanford sixth (212.775).

The Pac-10 had three athletes earn individual honors. Stanford's Erwin and Dan Gill won the still rings and vault, respectively, while California's Moore won the parallel bars. Moore, along with Nebraska's Grant Clinton were named MPSF co-Gymnasts of the Year. Oklahoma's Mark Williams was named MPSF Coach of the Year.

UCLA earned the Men's MPSF Indoor Track and Field Championships. The Bruins finished with a total score of 132, followed by defending champion WASHINGTON STATE with 117, ARIZONA with 89, OREGON with 73, STANFORD with 57 and ARIZONA STATE with 50. Wildcat sprinter Mike Kenyon set a meet record in the 400-yard dash with a time of 46.04, eclipsing the previous record of 46.51 set by Cory Murdock of Utah State in 1999. Oregon finished ninth at the NCAA Championships, the highest-placed Pac-10 squad.

UCLA's Art Venegas was named MPSF Track and Field Coach of the Year, while Kenyon earned MPSF Athlete of the Year honors.

ARIZONA won the MPSF Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships for the second consecutive season. The Wildcats posted 137 points to outpace UCLA, who finished with a mark of 117. WASHINGTON STATE placed third with 113, ARIZONA STATE fifth with 51, STANFORD sixth with 32.5 and OREGON ninth with 11. Arizona's Brianna Glenn stole the show again, posting MPSF meet records for the second consecutive year in the 60-meter (7.39) and 200-meter (23.40) dashes.

The defending NCAA indoor champion UCLA Bruins finished runner-up this season at the NCAA Championships. Stanford and Arizona were the next highest finishers at fifth and ninth, respectively. Pac-10 squads captured five NCAA individual titles. USC's Angela Williams won the 60-meter dash (7.13), while Stanford's Lauren Fleshman won the 3,000 meters (9:07.45) and Arizona's Amy Linnen won the pole vault (14'10.25', 4.53m). UCLA's Darnesha Griffith finished first in the high jump (6'00.75', 1.85m), while the Bruin distance medley relay (10:58.19) team took home top honors.

Arizona's Dave Murray was named MPSF Women's Track and Field Coach of the Year for the second straight season, while Glenn was honored as the MPSF Athlete of the Year for the third consecutive year.

Top-ranked Pepperdine knocked off second-ranked Hawai'i in the MPSF championship match (24-30, 30-25, 30-25, 30-27). The Rainbows, however, returned the favor in the NCAA championship final, defeating Pepperdine by scores of 29-31, 31-29, 30-21, 30-24, to win their first national title in any men's sport.

Pepperdine swept the MPSF awards as middle blocker Brad Keenan earned Player of the Year honors and outside hitter Sean Rooney was named Freshman of the Year. Marv Dunphy earned Coach of the Year honors.

STANFORD defeated CALIFORNIA 7-5 for the 2001 MPSF Water Polo Championship. The Cardinal built a 2-1 halftime lead and were able to sustain a last minute comeback by the Bears in the second half.

Stanford driver Tony Azevedo was named MPSF Player of the Year. Arguably the most heralded freshman in Cardinal history, Azevedo was named co-Most Valuable Player and All-Tournament at the MPSF Championships. He also received MVP and All-Tournament honors for his performance at the NCAA Championships.

Rounding out the awards, Stanford's Dante Dettamanti was named MPSF Coach of the Year in his final season on the Farm. Dettamanti led Stanford to its ninth NCAA title when it defeated rival UCLA 8- 5 in the 2001 NCAA Championship Game. Dettamanti's overall record stands at 666-206-6, the second-most number of winsin collegiate water polo history.

UCLA broke STANFORD's streak of two straight MPSF titles by upsetting the Cardinal 11-7 in the MPSF Championship final.

USC's Sofia Konoukh was named MPSF Player of the Year and voted Most Valuable Player of the MPSF Championship Tournament. Stanford's Jackie Frank was awarded MPSF Goalie of the Year and NCAA MVP honors in 2002 as she helped the Cardinal upend UCLA in the NCAA title game, 8-4. In that contest, Frank recorded a season-high 12 saves and allowed the Bruins to score just once in UCLA's 10 six-on-five opportunities in goals.

UCLA's Adam Krikorian and Stanford's Ricardo Azevedo were named co-Coaches of the Year as their respective teams battled for the national title once again.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder