Bears Travel to Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational

Oct. 5, 2002

BERKELEY - The 27th-ranked California women's golf team competes at the 21st-annual Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational, Mon.-Wed., Oct. 7-9 at the Tacoma (Wash.) Country and Golf Club. This is the Golden Bears first tournament since winning its third-straight Oregon State Invitational, Sept. 16-17.

Next week's field consists of 10 teams - host Washington, Cal, Stanford, Pepperdine, USC, UCLA, San Jose State, Oregon State, Oregon and Long Beach State.

The course will be played as a par-73, covering 6,102 yards. The Ihlanfeldt Invitational includes a practice round on Sunday at noon. The first two days of competition start at 9 a.m. PT, and Wednesday's final round tees off at 8 a.m. PT.

Cal's lineup features (in order): junior Sarah Huarte, senior Vikki Laing, junior Claire Dury, junior Anna Temple and freshman Miki Takayama. Freshman Sophia Sheridan, who is a member of Mexico's national team, is entered as an individual.

This is the first year the Ihlanfeldt Invitational has been held since the fall of 2000. USC is the tournament's defending champion, having won the event in October of 2000 when it was last contested at Sahalee Country Club. The Trojans shot 896 to finish 14 strokes ahead of second-place Stanford. The Cardinal's Stephanie Keever and Tulsa's Stacy Prammanasudh tied for medalist honors at even-par 216. Cal finished 10th out of 17 teams with a 943 with Huarte leading the way in a tie for 19th at 231.

The Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational is named for the founder of the Washington women's golf program. Ihlandfeldt started the UW program in 1974 before retiring seven years later in 1981. Cal coach Nancy McDaniel, formerly Nancy Kessler, won the individual title in 1987.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder