No. 1 Stanford Men And No. 2 Women Sweep Races At Pre-NCAA Meet

Oct. 19, 2002

Terre Haute, Ind. - The top-ranked Stanford men and second-ranked women swept their respective races at the 2002 Pre-NCAA Meet on Saturday hosted by Indiana State at the Lavern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course. Second-place individual finishes by Grant Robison (23:46.1) in the men's 8000 meter blue race and Alicia Craig (20:02.8) in the women's 6000 meter white race highlighted Stanford's individual efforts. Robison, an All-American last season, was making his 2002 debut. Brigham Young's Kip Kangogo (23:45.9) edged Robison by two-tenths of a second to win the men's blue race, while Florida State's Vicky Gill captured the women's white race in 19:54.8.

'All of our athletes on both the men's and women's teams did a great job today,' said Stanford director of track and field/cross country Vin Lananna. 'Our major objective was to race on this course in preparation for the NCAA Championships here in November, but it was nice to get a couple of team victories also. We ran aggressively and competitively, and accomplished our mission.'

The meet was split into a total of six races, three on both the men's and women's sides. All events were 8000 meters for the men and 6000 meters for the women. Colorado (white) and Central Michigan (open) won the other two men's races. On the women's side, top-ranked Brigham Young swept the women's blue and open races.

Other individual winners in the men's events were Colorado's Jorge Torres (23:34.8) in the white race and Montana's Antony Ford (24:29.3) in the open event. North Carolina's Shalane Flanagan (19:56.5) won the women's blue race, while Rutgers' Julie Culley (20:55.7) captured the open event.

The Stanford men scored 27 points to easily outdistance second-place Northern Arizona (92). Ian Dobson, also making his 2002 debut along with Robison, finished third in a time of 23:49.0 to lead four other Cardinal runners in the top 10. Donald Sage was sixth in 24:02.0, followed by Louis Luchini (7th, 24:02.3) and Peter Meindl (9th, 24:06.7). Adam Tenforde (14th, 24:16.2) and Robert Smitson (30th, 24:43.3) also competed for the Cardinal.

Stanford's Neil Davis (3rd, 24:39.8) and Justin Romaniuk (6th, 24:59.4) ran as individuals in the men's open race.

The Stanford women picked up 57 points for a comfortable victory over second-place Wake Forest (165). Sara Bei (3rd, 20:12.4), Lauren Fleshman (4th, 20:12.5) and Malindi Elmore (9th, 20:29.1) joined Craig in the top 10. Jeane Goff (39th, 21:21.8) completed Stanford's scoring, while Erin Sullivan (82nd, 21:53.9) and Anita Siraki (97th, 22:01.2) also competed for the Cardinal.

Stanford's Kristin Cohoon (42nd, 22:24.4) ran as an individual in the women's open race.

The Stanford men's and women's teams will next be in action at the Pac-10 Championships to be hosted by UCLA on Saturday, November 2.

Team Champion - 1. Stanford 27.
Individual Champion - 1. Kip Kangogo (Brigham Young) 23:45.9.
Stanford Runners - 2. Grant Robison 23:46.1; 3. Ian Dobson 23:49.0; 6. Donald Sage 24:02.0; 7. Louis Luchini 24:02.3; 9. Peter Meindl 24:06.7; 14. Adam Tenforde 24:16.2; 30. Robert Smitson 24:43.3.

Team Champion - 1. Stanford 57.
Individual Champion - 1. Vicky Gill (Florida State) 19:54.8.
Stanford Runners - 2. Alicia Craig 20:02.8; 3. Sara Bei 20:12.4; 4. Lauren Fleshman 20:12.5; 9. Malindi Elmore 20:29.1; 39. Jeane Goff 21:21.8; 82. Erin Sullivan 21:53.9; 97. Anita Siraki 22:01.2.

Team Champion - 1. Colorado 87.
Individual Champion - 1. Jorge Torres (Colorado) 23:34.8.

Team Champion - 1. Brigham Young 55.
Individual Champion - 1. Shalane Flanagan (North Carolina) 19:56.5.

Team Champion - 1. Central Michigan 97.
Individual Champion - 1. Antony Ford (Montana) 24:29.3.
Stanford Runners - 3. Neil Davis 24:39.8; 6. Justin Romaniuk 24:59.4.

Team Champion - 1. Brigham Young 18.
Individual Champion - 1. Julie Culley (Rutgers) 20:55.7.
Stanford Runners - 42. Kristin Cohoon 22:24.4.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder