Eight Bruins Capture MLS Cup With Los Angeles Galaxy

Oct. 21, 2002

Foxboro, MA - Eight former UCLA men's soccer players helped the Los Angeles Galaxy capture their first Major League Soccer (MLS) Championship in four tries on Sunday afternoon with a 1-0 double overtime victory over the New England Revolution.

Galaxy starters Cobi Jones (1988-91), Kevin Hartman (1995-96) and Sasha Victorine (1996-99), as well as reserve Pete Vagenas (1996-99), were on the field when league MVP Carlos Ruiz scored the golden goal in the 113th minute. The four Bruins were joined in the post-game celebration by four other former UCLA players - Matt Reis (1994-97), Adam Frye (1992-95), McKinley Tennyson Jr. (1997-2000) and Galaxy head coach Sigi Schmid (UCLA player from 1972-75 and UCLA head coach from 1980-98).

At least one UCLA player has been part of four of the last five MLS Championship teams. Josh Keller (1994-97) and Ante Razov (1992-95) were part of the 1998 MLS Cup champion Chicago Fire, Tahj Jakins (1993-96) played on the winning Kansas City Star team in 2000, and Jimmy Conrad (1996-97) and Zak Ibsen (1990-92) helped the San Jose Earthquakes win in 2001.

In other MLS news, former UCLA All-American Carlos Bocanegra was selected the MLS ADT Defender of the Year, becoming the youngest player in league history to win the award. Bocanegra, who is 23 years and five months old, was the 2000 MLS Rookie of the Year and was also named to this year's Pepsi/Best XI team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder