Terrell Suggs A Semifinalist For Ted Hendricks Award

Oct. 24, 2002

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State junior football standout Terrell Suggs has been named one of the 10 semifinalists for the inaugural Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year award, the Miami Touchdown Club has announced today. The award is presented to the best defensive end in the country in any of the NCAA divisions.

Criteria that go into the selection of the winner include on-field performance, leadership ability and contribution to the school and community. The award is named after Ted Hendricks, a three-time All-American at the University of Miami. Hendricks went on to an illustrious NFL career that saw him participate in eight Pro Bowls and four Super Bowls. He was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame in the class of 1990.

Suggs has 13 sacks on the year, the best in the nation, and is third on the ASU all-time single-season list with five games still left to play in the regular season. Suggs is 4.5 sacks shy of the NCAA record and six sacks short of the ASU record for a single-season. He is second on the ASU career sacks list with still one year of eligibility remaining.

The presenting organization, the Miami Touchdown Club, was founded in 1959. Among other activities, the Club in very active in helping youth-oriented charities.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder