Five Bruins Into Round of 16 at ITA Regionals

Oct. 24, 2002

Malibu, Calif. - Top-seeded Tobias Clemens headlined a list of five UCLA singles players that advanced to the round of 16 at the Omni Hotels Region VIII-South Championships at Pepperdine University on Thursday.

Clemens, a junior, will face Pepperdine's Calle Hansen in third roundaction on Friday. Clemens posted a 6-4, 7-5 first round win over Michael Frick of UC Santa Barbara and then defeated Parker Collins of USC in second round play by a 6-2, 6-3 count.

Fifth-seeded Chris Lam survived a tough, three-set battle with USD's Robert Blair in the first round, winning 3-6, 6-3, 7-6(7). He then defeated Pepperdine's Kevin Borzenski, 6-7, 6-3, 6-1 in the second round.

Lassi Ketola, Erfan Djahangiri and Alberto Francis were also second-round winners Thursday and will play in Friday's round of 16.

Bruin freshmen Travis Kinard, who needed to qualify for the main draw, and Aaron Yovan both won first-round matches, but ended up falling in the second round. Chris Surapol dropped a hard fought battle in the first round, falling in three. Following the loss, he ended up winning a first-round consolation match on Thursday.

In doubles action, top-seeded Francis and Ketola easily defeated UC Irvine's Dontia Haynes/Sean O'Connor, 8-3 in the first round. Djahangiri and Lam were also victorious for UCLA.

The only setback for UCLA thus far was the withdraw of second-seeded Marcin Matkowski due to injury.

Play continues on Friday and concludes on Sunday. Draws are posted on Pepperdine's website: Pepperdine Men's Tennis. Be sure to scroll to the bottom of the page.


Main Draw SinglesThursday, October 24, 2002at Ralphs-Straus Tennis Center; Malibu, CaliforniaBest two-of-three sets

First Round --(1) Tobias Clemens (UCLA) d. Michael Frick (UCSB); 6-4, 7-5Parker Collins (USC) d. (Q) Nicolas Schaffner (USD); 6-1, 6-2(9-16) Calle Hansen (PEP) d. Ryan McBride (ASU); 6-1, 6-2Anthony Evrard (LMU) d. (Q) Wkwesi Williams (UCI); 6-2, 7-5(8) Tigran Martirosyan (LMU) d. Mirza Koristovic (USD); 6-3, 6-1Carl Hagman (AZ) d. Peter Surapol (UCI); 6-3, 6-1(9-16) Pim Van Mele (ASU) d. Mike Placek (UCSB); 6-2, 6-2Aaron Yovan (UCLA) d. Brent Davis (UCR); 6-2, 6-0(3) Carlos Palencia (UCSB) d. Michael Wojnarowicz (LMU); 6-4, 6-4Scott Doerner (PEP) d. (Q) Dan Stevens (UCR); 6-1, 6-1(9-16) Lassi Ketola (UCLA) d. Jason Pongsrikul (USD); 7-6 (0), 6-2Sean O'Connor (UCI) d. (Q) Jerome Chan (UCSB); 6-2, 2-6, 6-4(5) Chris Lam (UCLA) d. Rob Blair (USD); 3-6, 6-3, 7-6 (7)Kevin Borzenski (PEP) d. Renouk Wijemmane (UCI); 7-6 (4), 6-4(9-16) Johan Berg (USC) d. Ryan Eveloff (ASU); 6-3, 6-2(Q) Travis Kinard (UCLA) d. Daniel Andrus (AZ); 7-6 (6), 6-2Alex Anselme (UCSB) d. Pierrick Ysern (USD); 4-6, 6-4, 6-1Brian Morton (UCI) d. (LL) Jordan Leo (UCR); 6-3, 6-3Clinton Letcher (ASU) d. (Q) Arash Bormand (UCI); 7-5, 6-2(6) Erfan Djahanjiri (UCLA) d. Tim Mullane (AZ); 7-6, 6-2Alberto Francis (UCLA) d. Jon Stott (ASU); 6-3, 6-0(9-16) Jon Endrikat (UCI) d. Chris Gessner (AZ); 6-2, 6-0Mirco Schwindt (UCSB) d. Ben Regin (USD); 6-2, 6-0(4) Whi Kim (AZ) d. Leo Graeubig (LMU); 7-5, 3-6, 6-1(Q) Eric Yandoc (UCI) d. Chris Surapol (UCLA); 3-6, 6-3, 6-4(9-16) Diego Acuna (PEP) d. Ilya Leshinsky (UCSB); 6-2, 7-6 (6)Olivier Charroin (ASU) d. Michael Mechede (USD); 6-1, 6-2(7) Daniel Langre (USC) d. Jaako Asuju (LMU); 6-3, 6-2Colin O'Grady (AZ) d. (Q) Norman Tam (UCR); 6-1, 6-4Chris Stewart (ASU) d. (LL) Aaron Bert (UCI); 6-4, 6-1Jeff Kazarian (USC) d. Dontia Haynes (UCI); 6-3, 6-2(LL) Scott Patterson (USC) d. Derek Betyar (UCR); 7-5, 6-0

Second Round --(1) Tobias Clemens (UCLA) d. Parker Collins (USC); 6-2, 6-3(9-16) Calle Hansen (PEP) d. Anthony Evrard (LMU); 7-6 (2), 6-0Carl Hagman (AZ) d. (8) Tigran Martirosyan (LMU); 2-6, 6-3, 6-2(9-16) Pim Van Mele (ASU) d. Aaron Yovan (UCLA); 6-2, 6-7, 6-4Scott Doerner (PEP) d. (3) Carlos Palencia (UCSB); 7-6 (4), 7-6 (6)(9-16) Lassi Ketola (UCLA) d. Sean O'Connor (UCI); 6-0, 7-5(5) Chris Lam (UCLA) d. Kevin Borzenski (PEP); 6-7, 6-3, 6-1(9-16) Johan Berg (USC) d. Travis Kinard (UCLA); 7-6 (6), 6-2Alex Anselme (UCSB) d. Brian Morton (UCI); 6-1, 6-2(6) Erfan Djahangiri (UCLA) d. Clinton Letcher (ASU); 6-3, 6-3Alberto Francis (UCLA) d. (9-16) Jon Endrikat (UCI); 6-3, 7-6Mirco Schwindt (UCSB) d. (4) Whi Kim (AZ); 6-1, 2-0 retired(9-16) Diego Acuna (PEP) d. Eric Yandoc (UCI); 6-4, 6-3(7) Daniel Langre (USC) d. Olivier Charroin (ASU); 6-3, 6-4Colin O'Grady (AZ) d. Chris Stewart (ASU); 6-3, 6-4Jeff Kazarian (USC) d. (LL) Scott Patterson (USC); 2-6, 6-2, 6-2

Consolation Draw SinglesThursday, October 24, 2002at Ralphs-Straus Tennis Center; Malibu, CaliforniaBest two-of-three sets with 10-point tie-breaker

First Round --Nicolas Schaffner (USD) d. Michael Frick (UCSB); 6-1, 6-0Ryan McBride (ASU) d. Wkwesi Williams (UCI); 6-1, 4-1 retiredPeter Surapol (UCI) d. Mirza Korostovic (USD); WithdrewBrent Davis (UCR) d. Mike Placek (UCSB); 6-4, 6-3Mike Wojnarowicz (LMU) d. Dan Stevens (UCR); 6-0, 7-5Jason Pongsrikul (USD) d. Jerome Chan (UCSB); 6-2, 6-1Rob Blair (USD) d. Renouk Wijemanne (UCI); 6-0, 6-1Daniel Andrus (AZ) d. Ryan Eveloff (ASU); 6-1, 6-1Pierrick Ysern (USD) d. Jordan Leo (UCR); 6-4, 6-2Tim Mullane (AZ) d. Arash Bormand (UCI); 6-4, 7-6 (3)Jon Stott (ASU) d. Chris Gessner (AZ); 3-6, 7-5 (10-7)Ben Regin (USD) d. Leo Graeubig (LMU); 3-6, 3-0 retiredChris Surapol (UCLA) d. Ilya Leshinsky (UCSB); 6-4, 6-2Jaako Asuju (LMU) d. Michael Mechede (USD); 2-6, 7-6 (5) (10-8)Aaron Bert (UCI) d. Norman Tam (UCR); 7-5, 1-6 (10-7)Dontia Haynes (UCI) d. Derek Betyar (UCR); 7-6 (4), 7-6 (6)

Main Draw DoublesThursday, October 24, 2002at Ralphs-Straus Tennis Center; Malibu, CaliforniaEight-game pro set

First Round --(1) Alberto Francis / Lassi Ketola (UCLA) d. Dontia Haynes /Sean O'Connor (UCI); 8-3Derek Betyar / Brent Davis (UCR) d. Michael Chan / AnthonyEvrard (LMU); 8-6(8) Jaaka Asuja / Tigran Martirosyan (LMU) d. Ilya Leshinsky /Mirco Schwindt (UCSB); 9-8 (5)(Q) Raymond Hekmat / Peter Surapol (UCI) d. Mirza Koristovic /Michael Meschede (USD); Walkover(4) Johan Berg / Daniel Langre (USC) d. Chris Surapol / AaronYovan (UCLA); 8-2Carl Hagman / Colin O'Grady (AZ) d. Clinton Lechter / PimVan Mele (ASU); 9-8(5) Diego Acuna / Calle Hansen (PEP) d. (Q) Arash Bormand /Eric Yandoc (UCI); 8-1Nicholas Brotman / Carlos Palencia (UCSB) d. (LL) Paul Choppi /Caesar Regaliza (UCR); 8-4Rob Blair / Pierrick Ysern (USD) d. Leo Basica / JeromeChan (UCSB); 8-2(6) Olivier Charroin / Chris Stewart (ASU) d. Chris Prentice /Renouk Wijemanne (UCI); 8-5Alex Anselme / Mike Placek (UCSB) d. Parker Collins / ChrisTontz (USC); 8-6Daniel Andrus / Whi Kim (AZ) d. (LL) Jordan Leo / DevinRippner (UCR); 8-2(Q) Michael Frick / Jesse Inghelram (UCSB) d. Dan Stevens /Norman Tam (UCR); 8-5(7) Erfan Djahangiri / Chris Lam (UCLA) d. Ryan McBride /Jonathan Stott (ASU); 8-2Leo Graeubig / Mike Wojnarowicz (LMU) d. (LL) Ben Regin /Nicolas Shaffner (USD); 8-4(2) Jon Endrikat / Brian Morton (UCI) d. Chris Gessner / TimMullane (AZ); Not available

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder