UCLA Women Win CS Fullerton Titan Cross Country Invitational

Oct. 25, 2002

Eric Peterson's UCLA women and men's cross country teams onFriday ran in the CS Fullerton Titan Invitational, held at Carbon CanyonRegional Park in Brea. The Bruin women won the six-team field with 16points and were led by junior Valerie Flores, who won the women's 5000mindividual race. The UCLA men placed second in the seven-team field with59 points and were paced by freshman Mohammed Qazi, who finished thirdin the men's 8000m event.

Bruin Women

The UCLA women won the team championship with 16 points, aheadof second-place CS San Marcos (54) and third-place Pepperdine (86).Ranked No. 19 in the nation this week, the Bruin women were led by fourrunners in the Top 5. Flores (San Pedro HS) won the women's 5000m racein a time of 18:12.9. She was followed by - junior Tiffany Burgess (VanNuys/Birmingham HS) in second-place (18:24.2), freshman Laura Muller(Woodland HS) in third-place (18:40.2) and freshman Leslie Barrie(Torrance HS) in fourth-place (18:43.9).

'We wanted to have a strong team showing today,' said Bruin headcoach Eric Peterson, in his ninth season coaching the UCLA women's team.'The top individuals from this group today will complete our team forthe upcoming Pac-10 Championships. It was great to see Valerie andTiffany pushing the pace from the beginning and being in total controlthe entire race. I'm pleased with the low team score and win. This teamvictory shows the depth of our program.'

Bruin Men

UCLA placed second in the men's team standings with 59 points,behind winner CS Marcos (24) and ahead of third-place finisher UC SantaBarbara (64).

UCLA had two runners in the Top 10. Qazi, a walkon from West Torrance HSwho joined the team just two weeks ago, placed third in a time of25:54.5. Finishing ninth was sophomore Reggie Oronoz (Pasadena/LoyolaHS), in a time of 26:09.6.

'This was Qazi's first race ever as a member of our team,' saidPeterson, in his third season coaching both the Bruin men and women'steams. 'He's earned a chance to be in the pool of runners who couldrepresent our men's team at next week's Pac-10 meet.'

Looking Ahead

Several of UCLA's top varsity performers did not run Friday, but willtrain through the weekend, preparing for the upcoming 2002 Pacific-10Cross Country Championships on Nov. 2. UCLA is the host school for theconference championships at Brookside Country Club in Pasadena (adjacentto the Rose Bowl). A 6000m gender combined 'B' race starts at 8:30 a.m.(for runners not competing in the women's and men's conferencechampionship races), the Pac-10 Women's Championships (6000m) begins at9:30 a.m. and the Pac-10 Men's Championships (8000m) starts at 10:30a.m.

The race will feature some of the nation's top collegiate cross countryteams and runners. In the women's division, according to this week'sNational Top 30, there are four Pac-10 teams rated - No. 2 Stanford, No.17 Arizona State, No. 19 UCLA and No. 25 Washington, and in the men'sdivision, there are three conference teams in the nation's Top 30 - No.1 Stanford, No. 5 Oregon, No. 25 Arizona State and Washington receivingvotes.

Stanford won both the women's and men's team titles at the 2001 Pac-10Cross Country Championships and the Cardinal returns both individualwinners - women's champion Lauren Fleshman and men's winner's GrantRobinson.

Following the Pac-10 Championships, Stanford will host the NCAA WestRegional Qualifying meet on Nov. 16 to decide what West Coast teams willadvance to the NCAA Championships in Terre Haute, IN on Nov. 25. TheUCLA women have advanced as a team to the NCAA Championship meet threeof the last four years.

CS Fullerton Titan Invitational
Oct. 25
Carbon Canyon Regional Park
Brea, CA

Women's Team Scoring
1. UCLA 16
2. CS San Marcos 54
3. Pepperdine 86
4. UC SantaBarbara 93
5. CS Fullerton 149
6. Loyola Marymount 164

Women Individually (5000m, Top 5)
1. Valerie Flores, UCLA, 18:12.9
2. Tiffany Burgess, UCLA, 18:24.2
3.Laura Muller, UCLA, 18:40.2
4. Leslie Barrie, UCLA, 18:43.9
5. DesireeDeJesus, UCSB, 18:47.7

UCLA Individually

1. Valerie Flores, 18:12.9
2. Tiffany Burgess, 18:24.2
3. LauraMuller, 18:40.2
4. Leslie Barrie, 18:43.9
6. Carolyn Shea, 18:57.7
18. Jenny Esser, 19:32.1
20. Ashley Allen, 19:33.8
28. Maribeth Buche,19:53.5

Men's Team Scoring
1. CS San Marcos 24
2. UCLA 59
3. UC Santa Barbara
4. Pepperdine 94
5. Men of Troy 141
6. Alliante International 156
7. Loyola Marymount185

Men Individually (8000m, Top 5)
1. Aaron Sharp, UNAT, 25:29.1
2. Rene Reyes, CSSM, 25:36.4
3. MohammedQazi, UCLA, 25:54.5
4. Robby McClendon, CSSM, 25:56.6
5. StewartHarwell, UNAT, 26:00.6

UCLA Individually
3. Mohammed Qazi, 25:54.5
9. Reggie Oronoz, 26:09.6
16. Nick DeFelice, 26:35.1
17. Bryan Bauerle, 26:36.5
36. Lucas Crowley, 27:23.9
45. Nico Cueva, 27:57.1
48. Nick Thornton, 28:09.3

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder