Marcus Allen Among First-time Nominees

Oct. 31, 2002

CANTON, Ohio (AP) - Running back Marcus Allen and NFL commissioner PaulTagliabue were among 74 people nominated Wednesday for induction into thePro Football Hall of Fame.

Allen is a first-time nominee, joining running back Herschel Walker,quarterback Boomer Esiason, special teams player/wide receiver Steve Tasker,tight end Brent Jones, offensive lineman Gary Zimmerman, defensive linemanRichard Dent and linebacker Sam Mills.

Twelve finalists will be determined in voting by the hall's board ofelectors. They will be joined by offensive lineman Bob Kuechenberg andcoaches Bill Parcells and Hank Stram. Kuechenberg and Parcells areautomatically included among the finalists because they finished in the topsix in last year's balloting for induction. Stram is the nominee of aseniors committee.

The induction class will be decided in a vote of the selection committee onJan. 25, 2003, the day before the Super Bowl in San Diego. As many as sevenand as few as four members will be selected.

Among the others on the list of nominees are James Lofton, Art Monk, L.C.Greenwood, Harry Carson, Donnie Shell, Lester Hayes, Ray Guy and Art Modell- all of whom were on last year's list of 15 finalists.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder