Husky Crew Competes at Portland Loop Regatta

Nov. 1, 2002

PORTLAND, Ore. - The Washington rowing team will be represented by four crews Saturday when the 14th annual Portland Loop Regatta takes place on the Willamette River's Lake Oswego/Oaks Park course.

Competition begins at 10 a.m on a five-mile stretch at the Portland section of the Willamette River. The 'head' races are a break from the straight, 2,000-meter courses customarily contested by collegians. Teams start at a set interval from a single-file line and must navigate around opposing crews in order to pass.

Several crews from throughout the Northwest are expected to row Saturday, including Oregon State, Oregon, Portland and Pacific Lutheran.

The Huskies are entering a varsity eight and junior varsity eight in both the men's and women's races. Last season all four Washington boats were victorious in their respective events. The UW men's and women's junior varsity crews won the open eight competitions while the varsity boats claimed the championship eight titles. Host Oregon State was the runner-up in all four races last year.

Six men from last season's varsity eight will compete in the same Husky boat in Portland while the UW women's varsity eight features three members of the crew that won the 2002 NCAA varsity eight championship.

The Portland Loop is the first race of the season for the Husky men. The Washington women competed Oct. 20 at the Head of the Charles Regatta in Boston. They were the top NCAA finishers, placing fourth overall.

The Huskies conclude the fall season next weekend in Seattle. Washington hosts the Pair Head on Saturday, Nov. 9 and the Head of the Lake Regatta on Sunday, Nov. 10. Both events begin at 8 a.m.

Portland Loop Regatta
Willamette River; Portland, Ore.
Nov. 2, 2002


Men's Varsity Eight
cox -- Ryan Marks
stroke -- Dusan Nikolic
7 -- Marko Petrovic
6 -- John Lorton
5 -- Ante Kusurin
4 -- Kevin Smythe
3 -- Sam Burns
2 -- Giuseppe Lanzone
bow -- Kyle Larson

Men's Junior Varsity Eight
cox -- Melissa Wengar
stroke -- Ian Sawyer
7 -- Martin Rogulja
6 -- Casey Clingan
5 -- Andy Derrick
4 -- Charles Minett
3 -- Matt Semritc
2 -- Matt Kopicky
bow -- Bill Liston

Women's Varsity Eight
cox -- Anne Hessburg
stroke -- Lauren Estevenin
7 -- Sanda Hangan
6 -- Adrienne Hunter
5 -- Carrie Stasiak
4 -- Jessica Harm
3 -- Erin Curry
2 -- Mary Reeves
bow -- Ilia Ash

Women's Junior Varsity Eight
cox -- Megan Mach
stroke -- Heidi Hurn
7 -- Nicole Mazikowski
6 -- Lisa Krikava
5 -- Courtney Matson
4 -- Gemma Edward-Aron
3 -- Margaret Henry
2 -- Lindsay Schwarz
bow -- Signe Johannes

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder