Husky Women Third, Men Fourth at Pac-10 Cross-Country Championships

Complete Pac-10 Men's Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete Pac-10 Women's Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Nov. 2, 2002

Sparked by the seventh-place performance of senior Courtney Inman, Washington's women's cross-country team took third Saturday at the Pac-10 Championships in Los Angeles, Calif. The Husky men's team also excelled with a fourth-place finish at the meet, its best team placing since a similar fourth-place finish in 1995.

Stanford's Grant Robison earned his second-consecutive Pac-10 title, completing the 8,000-meter men's course in 23 minutes, 27 seconds. With the win, Robison became the first Pac-10 men's runner to successfully defend the conference crown since WSU's Josephat Kapkory earned consecutive wins in 1992-93. Robison spurred the Cardinal men to their third-consecutive team title, and sixth in the last seven years.

Stanford also topped the podium on the women's side for the second-straight year, though it was Sara Bei edging 2001 champion Lauren Fleshman by two seconds for the victory in 19 minutes, 48 seconds. The Cardinal women won their seventh-consecutive Pac-10 title, and ninth in the last 10 years.

Washington's women packed three runners into the top-15, none completing the 6,000-meter course faster than co-captain Inman, whose time of 20:57 was easily a career-best. Inman was closely followed by fellow co-captain Kate Bradshaw, who turned in her best performance of the year with a 13th-place finish in 21:20, just one second faster than the 14th-place time of Husky sophomore Lindsey Egerdahl. Close behind the outstanding trio was junior Kate Spigel, whose 17th-place time of 21:23 shaved 45 seconds off of her previous career best.

The stellar performances by all of Washington's women's runners helped the team notch a low team score of 79, trailing only champion Stanford's 23 and the 59 points of runner-up Arizona State. The team's third-place finish matches its best since 1999, and was a two-spot improvement from the Huskies' fifth-place finish in 2001.

For the Husky men, junior Eric Garner led the way for the fourth-consecutive race this season, placing 19th in 24:38. While Washington failed to place a runner in the top-15 at the conference meet for just the second time in the last 15 years, the Huskies pushed four runners into the top-30 to post a team score of 114 in a fourth-place finish. Stanford's 19 points set the meet standard, while Oregon (51) and Arizona State (85) were the only other teams to eclipse the Huskies' mark.

While Garner was the pacesetter, he was nearly eclipsed by sophomore Matt Topping, who continued a breakout 2001 season with a 20th-place finish in 20:40. Closely following Topping were junior Todd Arnold, 26th in 24:51, and junior Ben Koss, 27th in 24:53.

Washington's cross-country teams will hope to carry the momentum from their outstanding performances at the conference meet to the NCAA West Regional Championships, Nov. 16 in Palo Alto, Calif.

Pac-10 Championships
Los Angeles, Calif.
Brookside Golf Course
Nov. 2, 2002

Women's Race (6,000m)
Team Scores: 1. Stanford, 23; 2. Arizona State, 59; 3. Washington, 79; 4. UCLA, 86; 5. Oregon, 134; 6. Washington State, 197; 7. USC, 202; 8. California, 208; 9. Arizona, 242.
Individual Winner: Sara Bei, Stanford, 19:48.
Husky Finishers: 7. Courtney Inman, 20:57; 13. Kate Bradshaw, 21:20; 14. Lindsey Egerdahl, 21:21; 17. Kate Spigel, 21:23; 28. Laura Halvorsen, 21:46; 30. Camille Connelly, 21:55; 31. Jamie Gibbs, 22:00; 32. Laura Hodgson, 22:03; 34. Chessa Adsit-Morris, 22:07; 43. Noelani Kaneko, 22:27.

Men's Race (8,000m)
Team Scores:
1. Stanford, 19; 2. Oregon, 51; 3. Arizona State, 85; 4. Washington, 114; 5. Washington State, 165; 6. California, 166; 7. Arizona, 176; 8. UCLA, 183.
Individual Winner: Grant Robison, Stanford, 23:27.
Husky Finishers: 19. Eric Garner, 24:38; 20. Matt Topping, 24:40; 26. Todd Arnold, 24:51; 27. Ben Koss, 24:53; 33. Michael Kiter, 25:08; 36. Mark Mandi, 25:12; 40. Dustin Duke, 25:17; 42. Andy Fader, 25:19; 52. John Russell, 25:34; 53. Jeremy Park, 25:35.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder