Skip to main content

Munnelly, Bugay Named All-Big 12

Nov 4, 2002

Dallas - Freshman midfielder Fran Munnelly (Arvada) is the first Colorado soccer player to be named First-Team All-Big 12 and Big 12 Rookie of the Year as well as being named to the Big 12 All-Newcomer Team while senior defender Aimee Bugay (Lakewood) was named to conference's second team the league office announced Monday.

Munnelly is just one of two freshmen named to the first team, joining Texas A&M goalkeeper Kati Jo Spisak. Munnelly led the 2002 Buffs in goals (6), assists (5), points (17) and shots (71) and is CU's all-time freshman class leader in those four categories as well as already cracking CU's all-time career chart in those as well as shots on goal (36).

Bugay, whose contributions on defense can't be measured in numbers, has been Colorado's mainstay in the backfield since her freshman season and has played all but 16 minutes in CU's return to the Big 12 Tournament in '02. At 5-3, she is one of the most noticeable players in the backfield and is one of the best defending headers in the league. She has started 70 of her career 72 matches including a consecutive streak of 34 from her freshman to junior seasons.

"Obviously this is an incredible honor for both Fran and our program. A player of her caliber joining our program says a great deal about her and our program and the direction that we're heading," complimented head coach Bill Hempen. "It's also a great honor for Aimee who has been a team leader since halfway through her junior year. Her commitment during the off-season has shown that hard work pays off even for upper classmen and I'm pleased that the coaches recognize that talent."

Bugay, Munnelly and the rest of the Buffs open Big 12 Tournament play Thursday vs. Missouri in a 12:30 (MDT) kickoff at the Blossom Soccer Complex in San Antonio. The winner plays the winner of the Texas A&M/Oklahoma State game Friday night in the tournament's first of two semifinal matches. The championship will be decided Sunday.


*GK Alex Gagarin, Texas, So, Austin, Texas
*GK Kati Jo Spisak, Texas A&M, Fr, Manchester, Mo.
D Breanna Boyd, Nebraska, Sr, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
D Jessica Hopkins, Texas, Sr, Mansfield, Texas
D Jessica Martin, Texas A&M, Sr, Denton, Texas
MF Kati McBain, Texas, Jr, Los Altos, Calif.
MF Fran Munnelly, Colorado, Fr, Arvada, Colo.
MF Kristen Strutz, Texas A&M, Jr, Spring, Texas
F Kelly Wilson, Texas, So, Odessa, Texas
F Christine Latham, Nebraska, Sr, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
F Linsey Woodard, Texas A&M, So, Midland, Texas
*Tied for position
GK Kat Doud, Oklahoma State, Sr, Plano, Texas
D Laura Kram, Texas, So, Wildwood, Mo.
D Aimee Bugay, Colorado, Sr, Lakewood, Colo.
D Tamura Crawley, Baylor, Sr, Dallas, Texas
D Martha Moore, Texas A&M, Jr, Spring, Texas
MF Nicole Breger, Texas, So, Sterling Heights, Mich.
MF Lauren McIver, Oklahoma, Fr, Tulsa, Okla.
MF Kerri Campbell, Texas Tech, Jr, Duncanville, Texas
F Kelly McDonald, Texas, So, Littleton, Colo.
F Melissa Peabody, Missouri, So, St. Louis, Mo.
F Logan Womack, Oklahoma, Jr, Norman, Okla.
Player of the Year: Kelly Wilson, Texas
Rookie of the Year: Fran Munnelly, Colorado
Co-Coaches of the Year: Karen Hancock, Oklahoma State and G. Guerrieri, Texas A&M
GK Kati Jo Spisak, Texas A&M, Fr, Manchester, Mo.
D Lauren Colwell, Oklahoma State, Fr, Tulsa, Okla.
D Katie Bunkers, Nebraska, Fr, Sioux Falls, S.D.
D Julie Gailey, Texas, Fr, San Ramon, Calif.
MF Fran Munnelly, Colorado, Fr, Arvada, Colo.
MF Lauren MacIver, Oklahoma, Fr, Tulsa, Okla.
MF Pam Karakusis, Nebraska, Fr, Littleton, Colo.
MF Carrie Berend, Texas A&M, Fr, Highland Village, Texas
F Caroline Smith, Kansas, Fr, Edina, Minn.
F Nikki Baker, Nebraska, Fr, Broken Arrow, Okla.
F Cristina Echavarry, Texas A&M, So, Houston, Texas