Randy Johnson Wins Fourth Straight Cy Young Award

Nov. 5, 2002

LOS ANGELES -- Former Trojan pitcher Randy Johnson won his fourth straight Cy Young Award as the top pitcher in the National League on Tuesday, earning all 32 first-place votes as a unanimous selection. Johnson ties the record set by Atlanta's Greg Maddux (1992-95).

Johnson went 24-5 this season for the Arizona Diamondbacks with a 2.37 ERA and 334 strikeouts, becoming the first major leaguer since Boston's Pedro Martinez in 1999 and the first NL player since the Mets' Dwight Gooden in 1985 to win pitching's triple crown.

He led the major leagues in strikeouts for the ninth time. Johnson also led the majors in innings (260) and complete games (eight), and led the NL in lowest opponents' batting average (.208).

On Thursday, the Cy Young Award winner for the American League will be announced. Oakland A's pitcher and former Trojan Barry Zito is a front-runner for the award, giving USC the possible distinction as being the only program ever to have Cy Young Award winners in both leagues during the same year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder