Women's Tennis Seniors To Compete At Omni Hotels National Championship

Nov. 5, 2002

FARMERS BRANCH, Texas - USC women's tennis seniors Jewel Peterson and Tiffany Brymer will be competing at the 2002 Omni Hotels National Intercollegiate Indoor Singles and Doubles Championships, the second of three national championships for collegiate tennis, this week (Nov. 7-10) in Dallas.

The Omni Hotels National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, the nation's premier collegiate indoor tennis tournaments for Division I men and women, are presented by The Dallas Morning News and have been hosted by SMU at the Brookhaven Country Club in Farmers Branch since 1994.

All players competing in the tournament qualified by winning regional events played over the last two weeks. Peterson captured both the singles and doubles title, with Brymer, at the 2002 Omni Hotel West Region Championship held in San Diego, Oct. 25-28. Peterson, who also claimed the regional title in 2000 and 2001, became the first-ever three-time regional tournament champion.

The tournament features a field of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams for men and women, including: qualifiers from Omni Hotels Regional Championships, the Omni Hotels National Small College champions, the winners of the Icy Hot/ITA Men's and Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships and at-large and wild card selections made by the ITA National Tournament Committee. Overall, more than 10,000 players from nearly 600 schools participate annually in the Omni Hotels Regional and National Intercollegiate Championships.

The Omni Hotels National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships were inaugurated in 1978 and recent champions and finalists include up-and-coming professionals Bea Bielik (Wake Forest), James Blake (Harvard), Laura Granville (Stanford), Marissa Irvin (Stanford), Jeff Morrison (Florida) and Alex Kim (Stanford). Longtime pros Todd Martin (Northwestern) and Lisa Raymond (Florida) are also among the past singles champions.

Wake Forest's Bielik captured the 2001 Omni Hotels women's singles title and Minnesota's Harsh Mankad collected the men's singles title. Stanford's Gabriela Lastra and Lauren Kalvaria claimed the women's doubles title and San Diego State's Oliver Maiberger and Ryan Redondo took home the men's doubles title. Maiberger and Redondo will be back again to defend their title.


Thursday, November 7
Men's & Women's Singles - First Round - Begins at 8:30 a.m.
Followed by
Men's Doubles - First Round and Quarterfinals
Women's Doubles - First Round and Quarterfinals
(players who lose in the first round will move to a consolation bracket)

Friday, November 8
Men's & Women's Singles - Second Round and Quarterfinals - Begins at 8:30 a.m.
Follow by
Men's Doubles - Semifinals
Women's Doubles - Semifinals

Saturday, November 9
Men's Singles - Semifinals at 10 a.m.
Women's Singles - Semifinals at 10 a.m.
Men's Doubles - Final at 2 p.m.
Women's Doubles - Final (following men's final)

Sunday, November 10
Women's Singles - Final at Noon
Followed by
Men's Singles - Final

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder