Dennis Weathersby Named Semifinalist For Thorpe Award

Nov. 6, 2002

The field of candidates for the 2002 Jim Thorpe Award, presented annually to the nation's best college defensive back, has been narrowed to the following players:

Rod Babers, Sr, Texas Troy Polamalu, Sr, USC
Sammy Davis, Sr, Texas A&M Etric Pruitt, Jr, Southern Miss.
Mike Doss, Sr, Ohio State Stuart Schweigert, Jr, Purdue
Brandon Everage, Jr, Oklahoma Derrick Strait, Jr, Oklahoma
Terrance Holt, Sr, N. Carolina St. Shane Walton, Sr, Notre Dame
Terence Newman, Sr, Kansas St. Dennis Weathersby, Sr, Oregon St.
Willie Pile, Sr, Virgina Tech Eugene Wilson, Sr, Illinois

Three finalists will be selected on November 25. The winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, broadcast from Disney World on December 12. Formal presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City, at the annual Jim Thorpe Awards ceremonies, February 11, 2003.

The Thorpe Award has been presented since 1986, based on the winner's performance on the field, athletic ability and character.

Voted the 20th century's greatest athlete in a poll by ABC's Wide World of Sports, Jim Thorpe was a two-time All American running back and defensive, the winner of decathlon and pentathlon gold medals in the 1912 Olympics, and a standout in both professional football and baseball. He was the first president of what became the National Football League.

Previous winners include: Roy Williams, Oklahoma, 2001; Jamar Fletcher, Wisconsin, 2000; Tyrone Carter, Minnesota, 1999; Antoine Winfield, Ohio State, 1998; Charles Woodson, Michigan, 1997; Lawrence Wright, Florida, 1996; Greg Myers, Colorado State, 1995; Chris Hudson, Colorado, 1994; Antonio Langham, Alabama, 1993; Deon Figures, Colorado, 1992; Terrell Buckley, Florida State, 1991; Darryll Lewis, Arizona, 1990; Mark Carrier, USC, 1989; Deion Sanders, Florida State, 1988; Bennie Blades, Miami, and Rickey Dixon, Oklahoma, (tie) 1987; and Thomas Everett, Baylor, 1986.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder