Men's Golf Advances at Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship

Nov. 8, 2002

MYRTLE BEACH, S.C. - Led by 2002 U.S. Amateur champion Ricky Barnes, the University of Arizona men's golf team won its first-round match Friday at the Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship at the Dye Course at Barefoot Resort.

Barnes led fifth-seeded Arizona to a 3-2 win over No. 12-seed Pepperdine with a 5 and 3 win over the Waves' Brian O'Flaherty. Dating back the U.S. Amateur in August, Barnes has won seven consecutive match play pairings. Also winning for the Wildcats was senior Reid Hatley, who earned a 1-up win over Chris Elliott, and freshman Blaine Peffley, who won 4 and 2 over Brandon White.

UA junior Andy Connell dropped a 4 and 2 decision to Randy Creighton and Chris Nallen lost 3 and 2 to Michael Putman to round out the scoring.

In second round action, Arizona was leading No. 13-seed North Carolina State in four of five matches through 12 holes when play was suspended due to darkness. Action will resume Saturday at 7:45 a.m. EST.

The Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship features 16 of the nation's top men's golf teams in a modified double-elimination team match play team tournament. The field is comprised of the top 16 finishers at last season's NCAA Championships. The Dye Course at Barefoot Resort is a par 71, 7,145-yard layout.

Hooters Collegiate Match Play Championship at Barefoot Resort
Dye Course at Barefoot Resort, North Myrtle Beach, S.C.
First Round Results - November 8, 2002 - Shotgun start at 7:45 a.m.

(5) Arizona def. (12) Pepperdine, 3-2
Blaine Peffley (Arizona) def. Brandon White (Pepperdine), 4 and 2
Reid Hatley (Arizona) def. Chris Elliott (Pepperdine), 1-up
Randy Creighton (Pepperdine) def. Andy Connell (Arizona), 2 and 1
Ricky Barnes (Arizona) def. Brian O'Flaherty (Pepperdine), 5 and 3
Michael Putnam (Pepperdine) def. Chris Nallen (Arizona), 3 and 2

Other First Round Matches
(1) Clemson def. (16) Purdue, 3-2
(3) Texas def. (14) Tulsa, 4-1
(8) Oklahoma State def. (9) Toledo, 3.5-1.5
(6) TCU def. (11) Georgia Tech, 3.5-1.5
(2) Augusta State def. (15) Colorado, 4-1
(7) Florida def. (10) Washington, 4-1
(13) NC State def. (4) Minnesota, 2.5-2.5 *won on tiebreaker (9 holes to 7 holes)

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network