NCAA Soccer Tournament Bids Do Not Include UW Women

Nov. 11, 2002

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The University of Washington did not receive an invitation to the NCAA Tournament when the field of 64 teams was announced Monday by the Division I Women's Soccer Committee.

The Huskies finished the season with a 9-8-3 record against one of the nation's most difficult schedules. Seven of the Huskies' eight defeats came against teams that are currently ranked, including five setbacks versus teams listed in the top 10. Washington played 11 games against opponents that received postseason berths, posting a 2-7-2 record in those encounters.

'Every year there are teams sitting here just like us that feel the same way we do. We can't feel sorry for ourselves because we put ourselves in this position,' said ninth-year coach Lesle Gallimore who led UW to six previous NCAA Tournament appearances. 'The Arizona loss probably was the one that hurt us. That and we probably needed to have another big win.

'It hurts for the kids and I feel badly for our seniors. They put a lot of time and energy into our program to put us on the map. For them not to go to the tournament in their last year is disappointing, especially after having won the Pac-10 in 2000 and gotten into the tournament last year. The emotions are kind of flying high with all of them right now, but I think when they look back on their careers here they will be pleased with what they accomplished.'

Among the Washington seniors whose collegiate careers have concluded are goalkeeper Hope Solo, the 2001 Pac-10 Player of the Year, and Andrea Morelli, the 1999 Pac-10 Defender of the Year. Solo departs as the Huskies' leader in every goalkeeping category, including career shutouts (18), saves (325) and goals against average (1.02).

The Huskies finished fifth in the Pacific-10 Conference standings with a 4-4-1 record, capping the season with a 5-0 victory over 15th-ranked USC on Sunday.

Pac-10 champion Stanford enters the tournament as the No. 1 seed. Stanford will host Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo, in a first-round match on November 15. This is Stanford's 12th tournament appearance.

No. 2 seed North Carolina, Atlantic Coast Conference champion, will host Big South champion, Radford, in its opening-round game. The West Coast Conference champion Pepperdine, the No. 3 seed, will visit Marquette and play Horizon League champion Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Connecticut, Big East champion and No. 4 seed, will host Central Connecticut State, Northeast Conference champion, in first-round play. North Carolina and Connecticut are the only two teams who have been invited to the tournament every year since it began in 1982.

The remaining top eight seeds are West Virginia, defending national champion Santa Clara, UCLA, and Portland.

The ACC and the Pac-10 lead all conferences with six teams each in the tournament. Five teams will represent the West Coast Conference and the Big 10.

First-round matches will be played Friday, November 15, at campus sites, and second-round matches will be played November 17, at the same campus sites-except for first- and second-round matches hosted by Brigham Young, which will be played November 14 and 16. Third-round games will be played on campus sites November 22, 23 or 24, as will quarterfinal matches on November 29, 30 or December 1.

The 21st annual NCAA Division I Women's College Cup will be played December 6 and 8 at Mike A. Myers Stadium on the campus of the University of Texas at Austin in Austin, Texas.

Eleven teams are making their first appearance in the tournament. They are Ohio State, Purdue, Utah, American University, Mississippi, Rhode Island, Michigan State, Yale, Creighton, Loyola Marymount and Northwestern State.

North Carolina has captured the title 16 times. In the 2001 championship game, Santa Clara defeated North Carolina 1-0.

Twenty-nine conferences were granted automatic bids for the 2002 championship. The remaining 35 teams were selected at-large.


(1) Stanford vs. Cal Poly-SLO
Denver vs. California
Notre Dame vs. Ohio State
Eastern Illinois vs. Purdue
Charlotte vs. James Madison
Richmond vs. Clemson
Brigham Young vs. Utah
Idaho State vs. (8) Portland
(5) West Virginia vs. Loyola, Maryland
Dayton vs. Virginia
Penn State vs. Princeton
American vs. Maryland
Auburn vs. Central Florida
Florida State vs. Mississippi
Dartmouth vs. Rhode Island
Central Connecticut State vs. (4) Connecticut
(3) Pepperdine vs. Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Wisconsin vs. Marquette
Michigan State vs. Miami, Ohio
Oakland vs. Michigan
Villanova vs. Yale
Hartford vs. Nebraska
Arizona State vs. Washington State
Creighton vs. (6) Santa Clara
(7) UCLA vs. Loyola Marymount
San Diego vs. USC
Texas vs. Southern Methodist
Northwestern State vs. Texas A&M
Tennessee vs. Furman
Kentucky vs. Cincinnati
William & Mary vs. Wake Forest
Radford vs. (2) North Carolina

America East Conference Hartford
Atlantic 10 Conference Richmond
Atlantic Coast Conference North Carolina
Atlantic Sun Conference Central Florida
Big 12 Nebraska
Big East Connecticut
Big Sky Idaho State
Big South Conference Radford
Big Ten Conference Ohio State
Big West Conference Cal Poly
Colonial Athletic Association James Madison
Conference USA Cincinnati
Horizon League Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Ivy League Princeton
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Loyola College (Maryland)
Mid-American Conference Miami (Ohio)
Mid-Continent Conference Oakland
Missouri Valley Conference Creighton
Mountain West Conference Brigham Young
Northeast Conference Central Connecticut State
Ohio Valley Conference Eastern Illinois
Pacific-10 Stanford
Patriot League American University
Southeast Conference Tennessee
Southern Conference Furman
Southland Conference Northwestern State
Sun Belt Conference Denver
West Coast Conference Pepperdine
Western Athletic Conference Southern Methodist

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network