Carson Palmer Named Finalist For Walter Camp Player Of The Year Award

Nov. 12, 2002

LOS ANGELES--USC senior quarterback Carson Palmer has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2002 Walter Camp Player of the Year award, presented annually by the Walter Camp Football Foundation to the nation's top college football player.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 12 and will receive his trophy during the Foundation's annual awards banquet on Feb. 8, 2003, at Yale.

The other finalists are: senior quarterback Brad Banks of Iowa, junior running back Chris Brown of Colorado, freshman running back Maurice Clarett of Ohio State, senior quarterback Ken Dorsey of Miami (Fla.), senior quarterback Jason Gesser of Washington State, senior running back Quentin Griffin of Oklahoma, senior quarterback Byron Leftwich of Marshall, sophomore running back Willie McGahee of Miami (Fla.) and junior running back Onterrio Smith of Oregon.

Trojans have won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award four times: Heisman Trophy-winning tailbacks O.J. Simpson in 1967 and 1968, Charles White in 1979 and Marcus Allen in 1981.

Palmer, a leading contender for the Heisman Trophy, has completed 217-of-346 passes (62.7%) for 2,746 yards with 22 touchdowns and just 8 interceptions in 2002. He is ninth nationally in total offense and 12th in passing efficiency. He owns seven USC career records and three single game marks. He is on the verge of becoming the Pac-10's career leader in total offense and passing yards. He is one of five semifinalists for the 2002 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (for the nation's top senior quarterback) and is on the Davey O'Brien Award Watch List.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder