Carson Palmer Named Semifinalist For Davey O'Brien Award

Nov. 13, 2002

LOS ANGELES--USC senior quarterback Carson Palmer has been named one of 14 semifinalists for the 2002 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually by the Davey O'Brien Foundation to the nation's best college quarterback.

Three finalists will be announced on Dec. 2, with the winner unveiled on Dec. 12. The winner will be honored at the O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 17, 2003, in Fort Worth, Tex.

The other semifinalists are: Brad Banks of Iowa, Kyle Boller of California, Ken Dorsey of Miami, Jason Gesser of Washington State, Kliff Kingsbury of Texas Tech, Byron Leftwich of Marshall, Jared Lorenzen of Kentucky, Eli Manning of Mississippi, Zack Mills of Penn State, Dave Ragone of Louisville, Philip Rivers of North Carolina State, Chris Simms of Texas and Seneca Wallace of Iowa State.

No Trojan has ever won the Davey O'Brien Award.

Palmer, a leading contender for the Heisman Trophy, has completed 217-of-346 passes (62.7%) for 2,746 yards with 22 touchdowns and just 8 interceptions in 2002. He is ninth nationally in total offense and 12th in passing efficiency. He owns seven USC career records and three single game marks. He is on the verge of becoming the Pac-10's career leader in total offense and passing yards. He is one of five semifinalists for the 2002 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (for the nation's top senior quarterback) and one of 10 finalists for the 2002 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network