Siegel, Weaver Named to 2002 Verizon District VIII All-Academic Football Team

Nov. 14, 2002

EUGENE, Ore. - Three-time honoree Nathan Frowsing of St. Mary's highlights the 2002 Verizon Academic All-District VIII Football Team, announced Thursday. Frowsing was the only three-time honoree on the 2002 team, while Eastern Washington's Kyler Randall, Nevada's Erick Streelman, Oregon State's Dennis Weathersby and Utah's Brooks Bahr all made the first team for the second time in their careers. The 2002 ballot was quite diverse from a geographic standpoint with five players representing California schools on the first team, four from Oregon and Utah and three each from Arizona and Nevada.

Oregon placed two players on the first team, placekicker Jared Siegel and center Dan Weaver. It is the second consecutive district honor for Weaver, who was a second team member as a sophomore last year. Siegel earned first team status in the first year he was eligible for the award.

The team was voted on by CoSIDA members from within the District VIII states of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington, and the province of British Columbia. The all-district first team selections advance to the national ballot, which will be released Dec. 2.

FIRST TEAMQB	Jason Johnson	Arizona	JR	Puyallup, Wash.	3.79	Business Management

REC Kassim Osgood San Diego State SR Salinas, Calif. 3.33 Sociology *Kyler Randall Eastern Washington JR Ferndale, Wash. 3.89 Education

TE *Erick Streelman Nevada SR Bellflower, Calif. 3.97 Secondary Education

RB Nick Chournos Weber State SO Tremonton, Utah 3.73 Criminal Justice

OL Bryce Bohlander UCLA SR Keizer, Ore. 3.27 Political Science **Nathan Frowsing St. Mary's SR Madera, Calif. 3.96 Politics Phil Howard Arizona State SR Scottsdale, Ariz. 3.95 Finance Ryan Jones California SR Castro Valley, Calif. 3.59 English & Religious Studies Dan Weaver Oregon JR Redmond, Ore. 3.21 Accounting

K Jared Siegel Oregon SO Sacramento, Calif. 3.58 Business Administration

DB David Gilmore Hawaii JR Albuquerque, N.M. 3.56 Travel Ind. Management Morgan Scalley Utah SO Salt Lake City, Utah 3.95 Pre-Mass Communications Chamieon Sutton Nevada-Las Vegas SR Las Vegas, Nev. 3.55 Social Science *Dennis Weathersby Oregon State SR Duarte, Calif. 3.22 Liberal Studies

LB *Brooks Bahr Utah SR Bountiful, Utah 3.95/3.85 Biology/Grad.-MBA Bart Brooks Idaho State SR Morgan, Utah 3.50 Management Matt McFadden Weber State JR Kanab, Utah 3.51 Physical Education

DL Chris Barry Nevada SO Tacoma, Wash. 3.51 Pre-Education Brandon Kania Idaho SO Pasco, Wash. 3.56 Agricultural Systems Mgmt. C.J. LaBoy St. Mary's SR Larkspur, Calif. 3.28 Business Administration Bill Swancutt Oregon State SO Salem, Ore. 3.24 Undecided

P Mark Gould Northern Arizona JR Boise, Idaho 3.51 Marketing

** 2000-01 Academic All-District VIII first team selection (three-time honoree)* 2001 Academic All-District VIII first team selection (two-time honoree)

-MORE-�SECOND TEAMQB Juston Wood Portland State SR Portland, Ore. 3.80 Public Health Education

REC Toby Christensen Brigham Young JR Alpine, Utah 3.74 Business Marketing Seth Trimmer Oregon State SR Corvallis, Ore. 3.31 Business Administration

TE Casey Poppinga Utah State SR Evanston, Wyo. 3.56 Physical Education

OL Kirk Chambers Stanford JR Provo, Utah 3.28 Public Policy & German Stud. Jordan Gross Utah SR Fruitland, Idaho 3.23 Speech Communication Scott Jackson Brigham Young JR R. Palos Verdes, Calif. 3.61 International Study Chris Murphy California JR Hanford, Calif. 3.50 Political Science Kurt Sigler Eastern Washington JR Coeur d'Alene, Idaho 3.46 Mgmt. Information Systems

K Mike Barth Arizona State SR Phoenix, Ariz. 3.25 Finance Kirk Yliniemi Oregon State JR Monmouth, Ore. 3.63 Construction Engineering

DB Keone Kaou Nevada SO Auburn, Calif. 3.26 Pre-Engineering Michael Madsen Brigham Young JR Littleton, Colo. 3.41 Exercise Science Kip Nielsen Brigham Young JR North Ogden, Utah 3.78 Spanish Leigh Torrance Stanford SO Atlanta, Ga. 3.20 Political Science

LB Travis Burkett St. Mary's SR San Luis Obispo, Calif. 3.30 History Jesse Busta Utah State SR LaCrescenta, Calif. 3.23 Management Kelly Micco Sacramento State SO Gold River, Calif. 3.35 Business

DL Jeremy Guenter Utah State SO Orem, Utah 3.26 Biology

P Brian Simnjanovski San Diego State SR Escondito, Cailf. 3.43 Social Sciences

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network