Verizon Academic District VIII Women's Volleyball Team Announced

Nov. 14, 2002

Long Beach, Calif. - The 2002 Verizon Academic All-District VIII Women's Volleyball first, second and third teams, as selected by CoSIDA, were announced today and 19 female student-athletes representing 13 different NCAA Division I institutions were honored.

Stanford had two selections: sophomore outside hitter Ogonna Nnamani (first team) and junior middle blocker Sara McGee (second team).

First team selections include: Paige Benjamin of Washington, Lauren Fendrick of UCLA, Brittany Hochevar of Long Beach State, Ogonna Nnamani of Stanford, Kristin O'Halloran of Cal Poly and Janelle Ruen of Eastern Washington. Both Fendrick and Kristin O'Halloran were first team All-District VIII selections in 2001, while Benjamin, Metcalf and Carly O'Halloran were second team selections.

In order to be eligible for Academic All-America honors, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cummulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale), must be a starter or an important reserve and be in at least their second season of competition at their current school.

The six first team members are now on the National Verizon Women's Volleyball Academic All-America ballot. First, second and third team national winners will be announced on Thursday, December 5, 2002. A total of 80 eligible student-athletes were nominated by 32 different schools on the District VIII ballot. Members of CoSIDA in the states of California, Hawaii, Alaska, British Columbia, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Nevada and Utah were responsible for voting.

Verizon Academic All-District VIII Women's Volleyball Teams

First TeamPaige Benjamin, WashingtonLauren Fendrick, UCLABrittany Hochevar, Long Beach StateOgonna Nnamani, StanfordKristin O'Halloran, Cal PolyJanelle Ruen, Eastern Washington

Second TeamDanielle Bauer, UCSBTina Brennan, Fresno StateJulia Leddy, Arizona StateSara McGee, StanfordStephanie Metcalf, Weber StateCarly O'Halloran, Cal PolyLisa Rutledge, Arizona

Third TeamCheryl Anglin, Arizona StateCourtney Bush, Eastern WashingtonLaura Collins, Oregon StateLaura Gustorf, Loyola MarymountJava Johnson, Fresno StateKim Turner, Utah

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder