Stanford Men's And Women's Individuals Compete In Farm Team Open

Nov. 15, 2002

Stanford, Calif. - Individuals from Stanford's top-ranked men's team and the second-ranked women's squad competed in the Farm Team Open held Friday at the Stanford Golf Course. Kristin Cohoon (7th, 23:33) and Evan Fox (8th, 18:49) were the top women's and men's finishers for the Cardinal in the combined 6000 meter race, which was ran on the same course that will be used for the women's 6000 meter competition Saturday at the 2002 NCAA West Regional to be hosted by Stanford. Jason Lunn (Nike) won the men's race in 18:20, while Sarna Becker (Nike Farm Team) was the women's champion in 21:50.

The race was a non-scoring event.

Yfa Kretzschmar (17th, 24:42) and Rachel Urbina (20th, 26:10) also ran for the Cardinal women.Andrew Hill (16th, 19:09), Sean Knapp (19th, 19:16), Philip West (30th, 19:44) and David Stillman (40th, 20:06) also competed for the Stanford men.

Stanford will host the 2002 NCAA West Regional at the Stanford Golf Course on Saturday, November 16, with the women's 6000 meter race beginning at 10 am and the men's 10000 meter event to follow at 11 am. The women's field consists of 33 teams, while the men's competition will have participants from 28 schools. The top two team finishers in both the men's and women's races will automatically advance to the NCAA Championships to be hosted by Indiana State on Monday, November 25, in Terre Haute, Indiana. The top four individuals from a team that doesn't qualify automatically on Saturday or is among 13 at-large teams across the nation selected next Monday will also qualify for the NCAA Championships. The fields for the NCAA Championships will consist of 31 teams and 255 runners for both the men's and women's events.

Individual Champion - 1. Sarna Becker (Nike Farm Team) 21:50.
Stanford Runners - 7. Kristin Cohoon 23:33; 17. Yfa Kretzschmar 24:42; 20. Rachel Urbina 26:10.

Individual Champion - 1. Jason Lunn (Nike) 18:20.
Stanford Runners - 8. Evan Fox 18:49; 16. Andrew Hill 19:09; 19. Sean Knapp 19:16; 30. Philip West 19:44; 40. David Stillman 20:06.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder