11 Bears Earn First or Second Team Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

Nov. 20, 2002

BERKELEY - Led by two-time honorees Tom Swoboda and Ryan Jones, Cal placed 11 players on either the first or second Pac-10 All-Academic football teams, the conference announced Wednesday.

With six players earning first team honors and five more on the second team, Cal has more players on the first two squads than any other school in the league.

Swoboda, a senior tight end, has a 3.39 GPA in business administration, while Jones, a senior center, owns a 3.59 GPA as a double major in English and religious studies. Others Bears on the first team are:

Junior OT Chris Murphy, 3.50 GPA in political science
Junior SAF Kristian Eriksen, 3.64 GPA in American studies
Senior PK Mark Jensen, 3.95 GPA as a graduate student in education
Junior P Tyler Fredrickson, 3.34 GPA in film

Cal's second team members are:

Senior QB Kyle Boller, 3.09 GPA in American studies
Freshman FB Chris Manderino, 3.08 GPA (undeclared)
Sophomore OG Jonathan Giesel, 3.32 GPA in religious studies
Sophomore DT Tom Sverchek, 3.03 GPA in American studies
Senior LB Paul Ugenti, 3.02 GPA in American studies

In addition, sophomore cornerback Mike McGrath and sophomore linebacker Brian Tremblay earned honorable mention recognition.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder