Men's Swimming Travels To California For Triple-Distance Meet

Nov. 20, 2002

Stanford, Calif. - Cardinal Take On Golden Bears In Double-Distance Meet: The No. 2 Stanford men's swimming team travels across the Bay to Berkeley for a triple-distance meet with California on Wednesday, November 20 at 1 p.m. in a non-scoring meet.

Order of Events: 50 Butterfly, 50 Backstroke, 50 Breaststroke, 50 Freestyle, 100 IM, 200 Freestyle, 100 Butterfly, 100 Backstroke, 100 Breaststroke, 100 Freestyle, 200 IM, 500 Freestyle, 200 Butterfly, 200 Backstroke, 200 Breaststroke, 200 Freestyle, 400 IM, 1000 Freestyle, 400 Medley Relay, 400 Freestyle Relay.

Rules of the Meet: There are six categories at the meet (fly, back, breast, free (sprint), free (distance) and IM. A swimmer may enter only one category. Each category will be scored and ranked by combining the total time (like golf) - lowest total wins. You will end up with a winner in each category and no team score will be kept (Relays are non scoring).

Last Time Out: The Stanford men's swimming team kicked off the their dual season with a 149-90 win over San Francisco State at the Avery Aquatic Center. The Cardinal had the top time in all 14 events on the afternoon, including both relays. Tobias Oriwol clocked the best time in three events on the afternoon (100 back, 200 back, 200 IM) while Pat Fowler won both the 100 and 200 breast. Michael McLean posted the fastest times in both the 500 and 1000 free. John Waters won the 50 free, Scott Ransenberg won the 100 free while Thomas Brown took top honors in the 200 free. In the 100 yard butterfly, Cardinal Alec Sheehy turned in the top time.

Two Decades Of Dominance: The Stanford men's swimming and diving team became the most dominant program in Pac-10 history by winning a 14th consecutive conference championship in 1995. Led by coach Skip Kenney, Tedd Knapp and Rick Schavone, Stanford broke the conference record for consecutive titles, established by UCLA men's basketball under John Wooden. The Cardinal has now run its streak to 21 consecutive Pac-10 titles, and has gone on to finish in the top four at NCAAs in every one of those years as well.

On The Web: For the latest news, notes and results on the Cardinal swimming and diving squad, log onto the official website of Stanford University athletics at

Head Coach Skip Kenney: Stanford head coach Skip Kenney enters his 24th season at the helm of the Cardinal program. He has led Stanford to seven NCAA titles, including a runaway win in 1998. He has also been named NCAA Coach of the Year six times, most recently in 1998. In addition, Kenney has led the Cardinal to some of the finest team performances in the history of the NCAA Championship meet. The 1992 squad set meet records for both points scored (632) and victory margin (276 points over Texas), and the 1998 team became the first to have a championship final representative in every individual and relay swimming event. He has guided the Cardinal to 21 straight conference titles, which is far and away the record for consecutive Pac-10 championships in any sport. Kenney has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year 13 times in the last 19 years.

CSCAA Top 25 (11/12/02)

1.	Texas		1992.	STANFORD	1903.	Auburn		1874.	California	1745.	Michigan	1646.	USC		1587.	Florida		1538. 	Minnesota	1509.	Arizona State	123	Tennessee	12311.	Georgia		12212.	Virginia	12113.	Arizona		10514.	Wisconsin	10115.	North Carolina	7816.	Texas A&M	6917.	Penn State	6618.	Purdue		62	Alabama		6220.	Harvard		4621.	Brigham Young	2922.	Hawaii		2823.	Pittsburgh	2224.	SMU		1725.	Washington	15
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder