Seven Sun Devil Football Players Earn Pac-10 All-Academic Accolades

Nov. 20, 2002

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Pac-10 Conference All-Academic teams were announced Wednesday with seven Sun Devil student-athletes receiving the honor. On offense, junior running back Mike Williams earned his second nod to the first-team and was one of 10 student-athletes from around the conference to earn first-team honors for a multiple time. Williams was accompanied on the list by defensive teammates Mason Unck, a senior linebacker, and Alfred Williams, a senior defensive back.

Joining the trio in garnering academic accolades were second-team honoree Skyler Fulton, a junior wide receiver, and three honorable mentions in senior place kicker Mike Barth, freshman quarterback Chad Christensen and freshman offensive lineman Grayling Love.

The conference honored 24 players on each of the first and second teams while also handing out honorable mention accolades to another 26 players from around the conference. To be eligible for selection to the academic teams, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter of significant substitute. Below is a list of the honorees:

First Team
QB - Jason Johnson (Arizona)
RB - Casey Moore (Stanford)
RB - Mike Williams (ASU)
WR - Collin Henderson (WSU)
WR - Seth Trimmer (Oregon St.)
TE - Tom Swoboda (Cal)
OL - Bryce Bohlander (UCLA)
OL - Kirk Chambers (Stanford)
OL - Ryan Jones (Cal)
OL - Christopher Murphy (Cal)
OL - Dan Weaver (Oregon)

DL - Craig Albrecht (Stanford)
DL - Trey Freeman (Stanford)
DL - Louis Hobson (Stanford)
DL - Jeremy Williams (WSU)
LB - Pat Bennett (WSU)
LB - Ben DalMolin (Arizona)
LB - Mason Unck (ASU)
DB - Kristian Ericksen (Cal)
DB - Kevin Schimmelmann (Stanford)
DB - Dennis Weathersby (Oregon St.)
DB - Alfred Williams (ASU)

PK - Mark Jensen (Cal)
P - Tyler Fredrickson (Cal)

Second Team
QB - Kyle Boller (Cal)
RB - Ty Eriks (Washington)
RB - Chris Manderino (Cal)
WR - Matt Debord (Washington)
WR - Skyler Fulton (ASU)
TE - Pat Loney (Oregon St.)
OL - Matt Brock (Oregon St.)
OL - Riley FittChappell (WSU)
OL - Jonathan Geisel (Cal)
OL - Matt Hayward (USC)
OL - Greg Schindler (Stanford)

DL - Babatunde Oshinowo (Stanford)
DL - Tom Sverchek (Cal)
DL - Will Svitek (Stanford)
DL - Bill Swancutt (Oregon St.)
LB - Jerry Matson (Oregon)
LB - Melvin Simmons (USC)
LB - Paul Ugenti (Cal)
DB - Darrell Brooks (Arizona)
DB - Cole Sheridan (WSU)
DB - James Sims (Washington)
DB - Leigh Torrance (Stanford)

PK - Kirk Yliniemi (Oregon St.)
P - Jose Arroyo (Oregon)

Honorable Mention
Arizona - QB Nic Costa; WR Gens Goodman; PK Sean Keel
ASU - PK Mike Barth; QB Chad Christensen; OL Grayling Love
Cal - CB Mike McGrath; LB Brian Tremblay
Oregon - QB Jason Fife; PK Jared Siegel
Oregon St. - LB Trent Bray
Stanford - Fl Greg Camarillo; OT Kwame Harris; C Tom Kolich; QB Kyle Matter; WR Nick Sebes; TE Alex Smith; FL Ryan Wells
UCLA - Fl Jon Dubravac; DB Keith Short
Washington - WR Wilbur Hooks; FS Jimmy Newell; TB chris Singleton
Washington State - FL Devard Darling; PK Drew Dunning; CB Karl Paymah

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder