Soccer Player Liz Bogus Named Pac-10 Freshman Of The Year

Nov. 20, 2002

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State's Elizabeth Bogus was named the Pacific-10 Conference Freshman of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Wednesday. Bogus, a freshman forward from Sandy, Utah, becomes the second Sun Devil - in only the seventh year of the program - to garner Pac-10 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year honors in the past four years, joining former All-American Stacey Tullock (1998-2001) on that elite list. Additionally, junior defender Amy LePeilbet earned her second consecutive first-team honor as well, while freshman midfielder Manya Makoski garnered second team acclaim.

Bogus helped lead Arizona State to a 12-7-2 overall record (4-5-0 Pac-10) and a tie for sixth-place in the Conference. ASU also earned its second NCAA Tournament appearance in the past three years, defeating Washington State, 2-1 in the first round.

In 21 games this season, Bogus ranks first in the Pac-10 Conference in game-winning goals (7), third in shots (62) and sixth in points (22). Bogus is a 2002 All-Pac-10 First Team selection, one of only two freshmen to earn that distinction this season. She was twice selected as the Pac-10 Player of the Week and was named to the Sept. 30 Soccer America Team of the Week.

LePeilbet, who hails from Crystal Lake, Illinois, started in all 21 games as the team's main defender, posting two goals and one assist for five points. LePeilbet was the quarterback of the ASU defense, playing middle back, that helped the Devils to tie a school record of five straight shutouts this year.

Makoski, from Trumbull, Connecticut, started in 19 games (missing the first two due to U-19 National Team commitments) setting an ASU single-season record with nine assists, also good for third in the Pac-10. Makoski finished the year second on the team in goals (6), first in assists (9) and second in points (21) and game-winning goals (2). Makoski was one of the team's most vital pieces on offense and defense all season long as they made their run into the NCAA Championships.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network