Weathersby Heads Pac-10 All-Academic Football Team

Nov. 20, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pacific-10 Conference has named the 2002 Pac-10 All-AcademicFootball Team. Cornerback Dennis Weathersby of Oregon State is just the fourth player to be named to the first unit of the All-Academic Team four times (the most recent was tailback Chad Morton of USC,1996-99).

Senior wide receiver Seth Trimmer was named to the first team squad as well. Trimmer, who has already earned a business degree and is now working on a master's degree in teaching, is a two-time first team selection.

The Beavers also placed four players on the second team: tight end Pat Loney, offensive lineman Matt Brock, defensive lineman Bill Swancutt and kicker Kirk Yliniemi.

In addition to Weathersby, the Washington State duo of flanker Collin Henderson anddefensive tackle Jeremey Williams have been named to the team for the third time.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant substitute.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder