Dana Taylor Named Pac-10 Co-Coach Of The Year As Several Beavers Are Honored

Nov. 21, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - -

Several members of the Oregon State men's soccer program were honored by the Pacific-10 Conference when it announced its 2002 all-conference selections Thursday, including head coach Dana Taylor, who was named Co-Coach of the Year.

In addition to Taylor's recognition, Joe Zaher was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and selected to the second team. Alan Gordon was selected to the first team, and Ryan Johnson, Matt Johnson, Aaron McHardy, Kurt Ness, and Christian vanBlommestein all earned honorable mention.

Taylor, in his fourth year at OSU, led the resurgence of the program from a 5-12 season a year ago to a school-best 13-7-0 mark (4-6-0 Pac-10) and the program's first appearance in the NCAA College Cup.

Under Taylor's guidance, the Beavers led the Pac-10 in five offensive categories, including shots (288), goals (47), points (133), assists (39), and goals per game (2.35). Several individuals ranked atop or among the conference leaders as well.

Taylor shared the Coach of the Year honor with California's Kevin Grimes.

Zaher was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and selected to the all-conference second team after scoring 25 points (10 goals, five assists) to rank third in the conference in points, second in goals, and first in game-winning goals (four).

Zaher's 25 points are the most scored by a freshman at OSU, and are the fourth-most in a single season.

Gordon, a transfer from Yavapai Junior College in Prescott, Ariz., was OSU's first-ever selection to the Pac-10's first team since the conference began sponsoring men's soccer in 2000.

The junior led the Pac-10 in points with 34 (15 goals, four assists), which was seven more than the nearest competitor, and led in goals. His school-record 72 shots were also tops in the conference by 20.

Headlining the list of honorable mention recipients is McHardy, whose 53 career points rank him third all-time at OSU; his 22 points this year are fifth in the Pac-10. McHardy was a second-team selection last year.

For Ness, a junior defender, this is his second consecutive honorable mention selection.

Earning his first recognition with an honorable mention was vanBlommestein, a junior defender.

True freshman forward Ryan Johnson totaled 13 points (four goals, five assists) and redshirt freshman forward Matt Johnson (nine points on three goals and three assists) received their first honorable mention as well.

Both Taylor's and Zaher's honors are the first such recognition for OSU in the Pac-10's three-year history.

California goalkeeper Josh Saunders was named Player of the Year.


Co-Coach of the Year - Dana Taylor

Freshman of the Year and second-team All-Pac-10 - Joe Zaher (freshman, Las Vegas, Nev./BishopGorman HS)

First-team All-Pac-10 - Alan Gordon (Junior, Gilbert, Ariz../Yavapai JC/Gilbert HS)

Honorable mention - Ryan Johnson (Freshman, Boston, Mass./Melrose HS), Matt Johnson (RedshirtFreshman, Williams, Ore./Hidden Valley HS), Aaron McHardy (Senior, Vancouver, BritishColumbia/Prince of Wales HS), Kurt Ness (Junior, Redmond, Wash./Redmond HS), ChristianvanBlommestein (Junior, Tacoma, Wash./Washington HS).


Pac-10 Co-Coach of the Year - Kevin Grimes, California

Pac-10 Player of the Year - Josh Saunders, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network