Ex-USC Women's Volleyballer Debbie Landreth Brown Wins NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

Nov. 21, 2002

LOS ANGELES-Debbie Landreth Brown, the 1977 Player of the Year in collegiate women's volleyball while at USC, has been named a recipient of a prestigious 2003 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award.

The award recognizes former student-athletes who have distinguished themselves since completing their college athletic careers 25 years ago.

The other 2003 honorees are Dale Kramer of Carleton College (track and field and cross country), Ken MacAfee of Notre Dame (football), Ann Meyers Drysdale of UCLA (basketball, volleyball and track and field), Warren Moon of Washington (football) and Gifford Nielsen of BYU (football and basketball). They will be honored at a banquet on Jan. 12, 2003, at the NCAA Convention in Anaheim, Calif.

Brown is USC's eighth winner of this prestigious award (and first Trojan women), joining John Ferraro, Al Geiberger, Mike Garrett, Stan Smith, Lynn Swann, Pat Haden and John Naber.

A two-year letterwinner (1976-77), Brown led the Women of Troy to a pair of AIAW national championships and a 72-1 record. She won All-American first team honors both seasons.

After her playing career, she became the head women's volleyball coach at Arizona State and currently at Notre Dame, where she has led her Sun Devil and Irish teams to 15 NCAA appearances in her 16 years. She is a three-time Big East Coach of the Year and was the 1986 Pac-10 Coach of the Year. She also has coached internationally with the U.S. Women's national team.

She is a member of the U.S. Volleyball Association's board of directors, was a U.S. Olympic Committee athletes advisory council member and was president of the American Volleyball Coaches Association in 1995-96.

# # #

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder