Boller, Banta-Cain Named Football Team's MVPs

Nov. 25, 2002

BERKELEY - Quarterback Kyle Boller, the school��s all-time leader in career touchdown passes, and end Tully Banta-Cain, the Bears�� No. 3 career sack man, were named team offensive and defensive most valuable players at the University of California football banquet, which was held at the Oakland Marriott Sunday night.

Boller, who also finished his career as Cal��s No. 2 career passer with 7,980 yards, threw 64 TD passes in his four years at Berkeley to set a school mark and rank seventh on the Pac-10 all-time list. Banta-Cain, whose 13 sacks this season came within one-half sack of the Bears�� single season mark of 13.5 set by Andre Carter in 2000, pillaged opposing quarterbacks for 26.5 sacks during his career.

Tailback Joe Igber, who rushed for a Big Game record 226 yards in Saturday��s season finale, received three awards�Xmost valuable back, team captain and outstanding player in the Big Game�Xwhile defensive end Tom Canada earned two citations as the player best exemplifying Cal spirit and the most inspirational player.

Listed below are all awards presented on Sunday:

2002 Awards

Dink Artal Award -- Player best exemplifying Cal Spirit
Tom Canada

Ken Harvey Award -- Player showing special academic commitment & improvement
Jamaal Cherry

Frank J Schlessinger Coaches Award -- Player who demonstrates outstanding athletic ability, academic success & Community service
Ryan Jones

Ken Cotton Award -- Most Courageous Player
Matt Nixon

Stub Allison Award -- Most Inspirational Player
Tom Canada

Joe Roth Award -- Player best exemplifying courage, attitude & sportsmanship
Bert Watts

Andy Smith Award -- Player with the most Big C Time
Nnamdi Asomugha

Strength Award -- Lifter of the Year
Scott Tercero

Big Hit Award -- Player registering the most ��Big Hits�� during the season
Wendell Hunter

Scout Team Player of the Year
Offensive -- Byron Storer
Defensive -- Ryan Estes
Special Teams -- Tim Mixon

Berkeley Breakfast Club Award -- Outstanding Player in the Big Game
Joe Igber

Bob Tessier Award -- Most Improved Lineman
Offensive -- Jonathan Giesel
Defensive -- Lorenzo Alexander

Most Improved Player
Tom Swoboda

Cort Majors Awards -- Team Captains
Offensive -- Kyle Boller & Joe Igber
Defensive -- Nnamdi Asomugha & Matt Nixon

Bob Simmons Award -- Most Valuable Freshman
Donnie McCleskey

Most Valuable Back
Joe Igber

J Scott Duncan Award -- Most Valuable Special Teams Player
Mark Jensen

Brick Muller Award -- Most Valuable Lineman
Offensive -- Scott Tercero
Defensive -- Josh Gustaveson

Bear Backer Award -- Most Valuable Player
Offensive -- Kyle Boller
Defensive -- Tully Banta-Cain

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network