UCLA Women Place 25th at NCAA Cross Country Championships

Nov. 25, 2002

Terre Haute, IN - At the 2002 NCAA Cross Country Championships (clear skies; light wind; 37o F), the Bruin women placed 25th out of 31 teams. No. 1 ranked Brigham Young University won the 2002 title with 85 points. Rounding out the top-five teams were Stanford (second, 113), Notre Dame (third, 170), Georgetown (fourth, 214) and Colorado (fifth, 220). North Carolina junior Shalane Flanagan won the 2002 individual title in 19:36, a new course record (6,000m course).

Junior Lena Nilsson (Vallentuna, Sweden), the 2002 NCAA outdoor 1500m champion, led the Bruins, finishing 17th in 20:10.0. Nilsson is the first Bruin woman to earn cross country All-America honors since Karen Hecox (1994, '93). Sophomore Alejandra Barrientos (Felton, CA/San Lorenzo Valley HS) was 86th (21:10.1), improving upon her 125th place finish a year ago.

Junior Valerie Flores (San Pedro, CA/San Pedro HS) finished 86th in 21:55.7. Freshman Jenna Timinsky (Encinitas, CA/San Dieguito Acad.) was 206th (22:09.2), followed by sophomore Carmen Winant (Philadelphia, PA/Germantown Friends), placing 207th in 22:09.4. Freshman Allison Hall (San Diego, CA/Rancho Bernardo) was 224th (22:22.0) and sophomore Lori Mann (Coto de Caza, CA/Santa Margarita Catholic) was 245th (22:59.3).

'I'm very pleased with Lena's performance and being our first All-American since Karen Hecox,' said Peterson. 'I'm also very pleased with the level of improvement by Alejandra.

'We went into the meet ranked 23rd. Our team goal was to finish in the top-15, but we are young (first NCAA meet for three of the seven UCLA runners). Our youth and inexperience got the best of us. We didn't handle the total environment as well as we wanted to achieve our team goals.'

2002 NCAA Cross Country Results

Team (Top-five of 31)
1. Brigham Young - 85
2. Stanford - 113
3. Notre Dame - 170
4. Georgetown - 214
5. Colorado - 220

Women's Individual Winner
Shalane Flanagan, UNC, 19:36 (course record)

17. Lena Nilsson, 20:10.0
86. Alejandra Barrientos, 21:10.1
180. Valerie Flores, 21:55.7
206. Jenna Timinsky, 22:09.2
207. Carmen Winant, 22:09.4
224. Allison Hall, 22:22.0
245. Lori Mann, 22:59.3

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder