Mahdavi Named Flaherty Winner At UW Awards Banquet

Nov. 26, 2002

Seattle - Husky senior captain Ben Mahdavi, a former walkon player, took top honors at the Washington football team's annual awards banquet when he was named the winner of the Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational Award and the co-Defensive Most Valuable Player. During the 2002 season, Mahdavi led the Washington defense with 92 tackles and was second on the team with 11.5 tackles for loss. It marked the second consecutive year Mahdavi has led the defense in tackles. He was also the Defensive Most Valuable Player in 2001. The Flaherty Award is Washington's oldest (since 1908), and most prestigious, individual award.

Sharing defensive MVP honors with Mahdavi was junior inside linebacker Marquis Cooper, who finished the year with 91 tackles and 11 tackles for loss. Husky junior quarterback Cody Pickett, who passed for a UW and Pac-10 record 4,186 yards, was named Washington's offensive MVP.

Washington's MVP awards are voted on by members of the team.

A trio of players shared the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Offensive Player Award. That group included senior tight end Kevin Ware, a semifinalist for the 2002 Mackey Award, and sophomore Reggie Williams, who set UW single-season and career receiving records in 2002. Senior defensive end Kai Ellis, junior safety Greg Carothers and sophomore cornerback Derrick Johnson shared the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Defensive Player Award. Senior kicker John Anderson, senior Wilbur Hooks and sophomore Tim Galloway were the recipients of the Sports Radio 950 KJR Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

Ellis was a multiple-award winner as the recipient of the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Award and the John P. Angel Outstanding Defensive Lineman. Junior Nick Newton was named the the John P. Angel Outstanding Offensive Lineman. Pat Reddick, who shared the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award with Elliott Zajac and Braxton Cleman was also honored with the Inspirational Academic Award. Hooks was also a double winner as the recipient of the Academic Excellence Award.

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to sophomore wide receiver Charles Frederick and sophomore guard Dan Dicks on offense and sophomore cornerback Derrick Johnson and junior cornerback Chris Massey on defense.

The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards winner were cornerback Nate Robinson and safety James Sims on defense and guard/tackle Robin Meadow and tight end Joe Toledo on offense. The Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award was presented to senior linebacker Jafar Williams.

Senior wide receiver Matt DeBord was honored as the 101 Club Academic Award winner. Senior linebacker Anthony Kelley won the Tyee Sports Council's Community Service Award for the second consecutive year.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Players of the Year went to freshmen offensive lineman Clayton Walker and running back Shelton Sampson. Freshman defensive back Matt Fountaine and freshman defensive lineman Dan Milsten were announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Players of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Players of the Year Award was presented to Ryan Campbell and Matt Griffith.

Coaches' Awards for outstanding contributions to the team were made to senior defensive end Houdini Jackson, junior center Todd Bachert and senior wide receiver Paul Arnold.

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Maikai Spencer, a student assistant on the Husky equipment staff and Justin Heistand, a student trainer.

2002 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Ben Mahdavi

Players' MVP Award
Cody Pickett (Offense)
Ben Mahdavi and Marquis Cooper (Defense)

Sports Radio 950 KJR Players of the Year
Kevin Ware and Reggie Williams (Offense)
Kai Ellis, Greg Carothers and Derrick Johnson (Defense)
Wilbur Hooks, John Anderson and Tim Galloway (Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player
Dan Dicks and Charles Frederick (Offense)
Derrick Johnson and Chris Massey (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Nick Newton (Offense)
Kai Ellis (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Kai Ellis

101 Club Academic Award
Matt Debord

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Elliott Zajac, Braxton Cleman and Pat Reddick

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Jafar Williams

Tyee Sports Council Service Award
Anthony Kelley

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Clayton Walker and Shelton Sampson

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Matt Fountaine and Dan Milsten

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Ryan Campbell and Matt Griffith

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Robin Meadow and Joe Toledo (Offense)
Nate Robinson and James Sims (Defense)

Inspirational Academic Award
Pat Reddick

Academic Excellence Award
Wilbur Hooks

Coaches' Award
Houdini Jackson, Todd Bachert and Paul Arnold

Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award
Maikai Spencer (Equipment Room Staff)
Justin Heistand (Athletic Training Staff)

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder