Women's Volleyball Has Four Honored To 2002 All-Pac-10 First Team

Nov. 26, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- USC's Emily Adams, Keao Burdine, Katie Olsovsky and April Ross have been named to the 2002 All-Pac-10 first team, Pac-10 commissioner Tom Hansen announced Tuesday. The Women of Troy's four first team selections are the most of any conference school and the most in USC history. Last season, the Trojans had three first team picks.

This is the third career All-Pac-10 first team selection for Ross, the second straight for Olsovsky, who also received honorable mention honors as a freshman, and the first for Burdine and Adams. Burdine was an honorable mention pick in 2001.

Junior setter Toni Anderson was also honored and selected to the 2002 All-Pac-10 honorable mention team.

Stanford's Logan Tom has been named Pac-10 Player of the Year and Arizona's Kim Glass has been selected as Freshman of the Year.

Washington coach Jim McLaughlin has been tabbed the Pac-10 Coach of the Year after guiding Washington to its best record and Pac-10 finish since 1997. In just his second year at the helm of the Husky program, McLaughlin, who led the USC men's volleyball team to the 1990 NCAA Championship, led Washington to a tie for fifth in the Pac-10 race at 9-9, while posting an overall record of 17-10 (with two matches remaining).


Emily Adams, USC MB 6-5 So. Phoenix, Ariz.
Paige Benjamin, WASH OH 5-10 Sr. Redmond, Wash.
Keao Burdine, USC OH 6-1 So. Pico Rivera, Calif.
Juliana Escobar, ASU OH 5-11 Jr. Sobradinoho DF, Brazil
Kim Glass, ARIZ OH 6-2 Fr. Lancaster, Pa.
LaToya Harris, WSU*** OH 5-9 Sr. Portland, Ore.
Mia Jerkov, CAL OH 6-3 So. Split, Croatia
Gretchen Maurer, WASH S 5-11 Sr. San Clemente, Calif.
Sara McGee, STAN** MB 6-3 Jr. Davis, Calif.
Ogonna Nnamani, STAN** OH 6-1 So. Normal, Ill.
Katie Olsovsky, USC** MB 6-3 Jr. Torrance, Calif.

April Ross, USC*** OH 6-1 Jr. Newport Beach, Calif.
Logan Tom, STAN**** OH 6-1 Sr. Salt Lake City, Utah
Chrissie Zartman, UCLA L 5-5 So. Hermosa Beach, Calif.

** two-time selection
*** three-time selection
**** four-time selection

Honorable Mention:
Dariam Acevedo, ORE; Toni Anderson, USC; Lindsay Closs, ORE;
Laura Collins, OSU; Lauren Fendrick, UCLA; Laurie Gardner, ARIZ; Adrian Hankoff, WSU;
Holly Harris, WSU; Jenn Harvey, STAN: Courtney Jamtaas, WSU; Bre Ladd, ARIZ;
Julia Leddy, ASU; Lisa Rutledge, ARIZ; Chelsie Schafer, WSU; Sanja Tomasevic, WASH;
Leah Young, CAL.


Dariam Acevedo, ORE MB 5-9 Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
Jenna Brown, CAL OH 5-11 Friendswood, Texas
Kim Glass, ARIZ OH 6-2 Lancaster, Pa.
Bre Ladd, ARIZ OPP 6-1 Tucson, Ariz.
Brenn Larson, WSU S 5-11 Westlake, Calif.
Candace Lee, WASH L 5-7 Eugene, Ore.

Honorable Mention:
Angie Ayers, ARIZ; Jodi Bell, ORE; Haley Jorgensborg, UCLA;
Darla Myhre, WASH; Karah Rhoades, OSU; Kelly Russell, ORE; Courtney Schultz, STAN.

PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Logan Tom, Stanford
PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Kim Glass, Arizona
PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Jim McLaughlin, Washington

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder