Bruins Defeat New Mexico to Win Albuturkey Tournament

Nov. 30, 2002

ALBUQUERQUE, NM - The 21st-ranked Bruins defeated host New Mexico in three games (30-17, 30-20, 30-24) to win the UNM Albuturkey Tournament Championship on Saturday evening in Albuquerque, NM. Cira Wright and Chrissie Zartman were named to the All-Tournament Team, which was headlined by MVP Brynn Murphy. In Saturday's match against the Lobos, Zartman also became the first Bruin in history to record a 500-dig season, pushing her season total to 504.

In Saturday's match against New Mexico, three Bruins posted double-figure kills, led by Lauren Fendrick with 12, Heather Cullen with 11 and Brittany Ringel with 10. Zartman led all players with 14 digs to surpass Samantha Shaver (499 digs in 1990) for the UCLA single-season record. Zartman enters postseason play with 504 digs this season.

With a 3-0 record in Albuturkey play, the Bruins took home the team championship, with New Mexico in second place (2-1), Butler in third (1-2), and Rice (0-3) in fourth. Three Bruins were recognized for their play in the tournament, as the All-Tournament Team included Rebeca Pazo (Rice), Amanda Matthews (Butler), Anna Reines (New Mexico), Vanessa Shields (New Mexico), Cira Wright (UCLA) and Chrissie Zartman (UCLA), with UCLA's Brynn Murphy as the Tournament Most Valuable Player.

UCLA will learn its postseason fate on Sunday, Dec. 1, at approximately 6 pm Pacific Time, when the NCAA Selection Show will be broadcast live on ESPNEWS.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder